WORSHIP ME I AM LGBT

I just finished reading an article in CHARISMA NEWS.  The article is about the new law the Democratic led government in California passed (SB 40) and Governor Brown signed.

SB 40 goes into effect in California public schools in January 2012.  You can view the CHARISMA NEWS article here http://www.charismanews.com/culture/32431-ads-urge-california-parents-to-rescue-children-from-sexual-indoctrination.

I find this to be very disturbing!  Social engineering is NOT  what the government should be doing with our children.  Why don’t we try actually concentrating on the science, math and reading skills of our children?  How much further down the scale will we allow our public schools to slide before we stand up and say ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

And just how do you explain to a child in kindergarten, first or second grade about LGBTs?  Is that really what classroom instruction time should be used for?  Well according to the lawmakers in California it is!

You see first those of us in the “straight camp” were expected to tolerate the LGBTs.  Then we were expected to accept the LGBTs.  Now it seems we are supposed to allow our children to be taught to worship them?! 

I will admit I am Old School.  I remember learning about events in history.  I remember learning about people in history.  I don’t remember learning about what sort of sex people were having in school.  And you know what?  Things were okay too.  But now we have to have our children taught about what sort of sex people are having and that they (the children) need to be okay with that or they will be in BIG TROUBLE!

Why can one class of people force their views down the throats of those with differing views?  And don’t try to give me that bull about, “If I don’t openly endorse your life style I am, somehow, intollerant of you.”  Big deal.   I can’t make anyone have sex or stop having sex!

 

5 Responses to WORSHIP ME I AM LGBT

  1. ska532 says:

    Really? So now we’re forcing children as young as kindergarten to be subject to this kind of stuff? Its funny how they want to scream and cry when we want Creationism taught in schools, or to allow places like fire departments to have nativity scenes during the Christmas season and want to say we’re “indoctrinating” children in to religion, but then they turn around and do the very same thing regarding this kind of stuff. Sadly, I’m not surprised…however…I’m not OK with this. I’m glad my children aren’t in CA schools, but this is just the beginning of a downward spiral if the Church (capital C) doesn’t stand up and speak up.

  2. Laura says:

    What bothers me is the whole concept of “tolerance”. It used to mean, essentially, “live and let live”. In other words, if you are gay/black/catholic/alien with horns, I don’t have to like it, but I shouldn’t abuse you for it (physically, mentally, etc).

    Now, it means that “I must actively endorse and support what you are doing, even if it goes against my own personal moral code. And if I do not do this, I acknowledge that I am a hateful bigot/racist/homophobe/alien-hater”.

    Frankly, I don’t care that (for example) Aaron Copeland was gay. He wrote some awesome music, and I will continue to play it with the same passion I did before I knew he was gay. Do I think that I needed to know that when I was ten? No.

    To me, sexual orientation is different, even, than color… in some respects. For example, Harriet Tubman was amazing in what she did, with the Underground Railroad and her fight against slavery. That she was a black woman makes her accomplishments that much more incredible, because of the persecution (against blacks and women) that was happening back then.

    But a closeted gay man who composes music? A closeted politician? The sexual orientation may be part of who he is, but doesn’t factor into his accomplishments. It is a part of him, just like my being straight, or blonde, or blue-eyed, is a part of me. Appalachian Spring isn’t any more incredible a piece of music because Copeland was gay. It would be far more relevant if he was a composing musician in a world where music was banned.

  3. Hayden Tompkins says:

    Since this article is essentially an opinion piece, I went to the text of the bill which states:

    “The Fair, Accurate, Inclusive and Respectful (FAIR) Education Act amends the education code to require schools to integrate factual information about social movements, current events and history of people with disabilities and LGBT people into existing social studies lessons. It also prevents the State Board of Education from adopting instructional materials that discriminate.”

    While I understand that many people, due to their religious beliefs, do not support or endorse homosexuality and other ‘alternative’ lifestyles, this is an existing issue in schools as evidenced by the results of bullying we have seen in the news.

    The article seems incredibly hyperbolic towards SB 48.

    The bill does not say what the article is asserting. Now, the execution of the bill will determine the reality of it but based off what I have seen so far, it is not accurate.

  4. Cheryl says:

    Wow. California is, in fact, the land of “fruits and nuts,” but this is a little beyond what I’d thought they were capable of, notwithstanding the language of the bill and the claim of “fairness.”

    I always find it interesting when people argue that carving out specific exceptions for the LGBT community is “fairness” when those same legislators think nothing of penalizing, harassing and even jailing ministers for preaching what the Bible says – even in the face of the 1st amendment that guarantees the right to freedom of speech and freedom of religion.

    I find it more disturbing that otherwise intelligent people support such nonsense when there are already laws on the books prohibiting bullying behavior – intimidation, harassment, etc., are already proscribed behaviors in most, if not all, American criminal codes. Apparently, the LBGT community, like the minority community, is better than everyone else – they must be because they want “special” laws that apply only to them.

    Thousands of years of law and culture, across civilizations, have all uniformly rejected validation and support of the LGBT “lifestyle” – and without exception, embracing the LGBT agenda has led to the downfall of such civilizations. There is no excuse for bullying, but I suspect that the LGBT community isn’t going to be happy with peaceful coexistence. Let’s hope that they follow their own advice and that they themselves can refrain from “bullying” others whose opinions and lifestyles they disagree with.

Leave a Reply

