THE SEASON OF LENT

Much has been written about the Lenten season  I don’t suppose my little ramblings will change much.

In my personal opinion the Church Doctrine of Lent has become a means of allowing many people who say they are Christians to pretty much do as the please throughout the remainder of the year.  However when Lent rolls around these same “sayers” will give up some food group or stop using some technology that consumes a portion of their day or heck, some may even practice acts of benevolence!  But what are these same people replacing those voids in their life with?  During any other time of the year if someone gives up a specific food group what is it called?  It’s a diet.  Right?  If someone takes a break from  technology what is that called?  Maybe a vacation?  If someone practices sporadic acts of benevolence what is that about?  Making the giver feel good about what they are doing?

On the other hand, when people determine that the Holy Spirit (not the calender) is calling them to change destructive patterns of behavior in their life and they obey His leading then there can be true, daily and lasting transformation(s).  The old has passed away…

I think if you approach the season of Lent with the view of “look how bad or slack I’ve been” the enemy has already won.  Guilt does not come from the Lord.  On the other hand, if you approach the season of Lent with the view of  “what daily changes can I make in my life to reflect the teachings of the Savior and too become more Christ-like” then you may be heading in the right direction.

So, are you being lead by the days on a calender or some Church Doctrine?  Or are you seeking The One Who created time?  The former leads to spiritual death.  The later leads to Life eternal.

The choice has always been ours to make.  Choose wisely.

 

2 Responses to THE SEASON OF LENT

  1. Joy says:

    I’m very happy you have this in your life. I have God in my heart but don’t follow any church.

  2. Laura says:

    I think this is a huge undertaking… admittedly, I haven’t been a part of organized religion for a ton of years, but when I was a kid and active in my Lutheran Church, Lent was always a time of “giving up” something. The question was always put to us two or three Sundays before, and repeated during Sunday School until Ash Wednesday, “what are you giving up for Lent? Because that’s what Lent is for… to teach you how to do without something.” (or maybe that’s how my warped, child’s brain interpreted much deeper lessons that were trying to be conveyed)

    It’s only been in the past few years that I’ve noticed, through conversations with a friend who is a Priest (Cath) among other things, that the idea of “bettering oneself”, “being more like Jesus”, or “service to others” has been introduced as a Lenten concept. I think it’s a very good thing – it makes much more sense to frame it that way, as opposed to “give up something”. Like you say – it makes it into just another diet. That approach is not thoughtful at all.

    Now, in my life, I don’t subscribe to any one religion. I’ve been burned too much by them. Rather, I choose to be the best that I can be – serving others when I can because it’s the right thing to do. And that means all year round, rather than just during one designated month or so in the spring.

Leave a Reply

