What Makes an Individual a Hero?

I keep hearing the word “HERO” used a good bit.  It’s gotten to where many people (if not most), who look favorably on our military personnel, think that every single military person killed while on active duty is a hero.  Excuse me!  So signing a contract, raising your hand and pledging allegiance to the country and agreeing to defend the USA against all enemies (foreign and domestic) is what makes a person a hero?  I don’t think the person who rides a desk or pushes a pencil who is killed in a tragic accident merits the same title of hero as an individual who is killed on the battle field.  And I will push t he envelope even further.  I don’t think every single person killed on the battle field is a hero either.  There, I’ve said it.  I think a person on the battle field who is killed while doing something that others will not do (even refuse to do) is a hero.  How can a person hiding behind a tree or a rock or in his Humvee refusing to engage the enemy be a hero?  Anyone… anyone at all?  Self preservation is one thing but cowardice is an entirely different animal.

So to recap; the title of HERO should be EARNED.  Let’s not dilute what our TRUE HEROS have done by summarily giving everyone the title of HERO simply because of their title.

And yes I know there are heros who are not in the military. 

Why don’t you take a moment and list a hero that you know.  A teacher?  A preacher?  A stay at home mom?  A daddy who’s kids come before golf and going out with the boys?  A police officer?  A firefighter?  The list could go on and on.

3 Responses to What Makes an Individual a Hero?

  1. DM says:

    I don’t know too many hero’s myself. I can feel the passion in this post. I was just talking last week with my wife about the words people use. Wish I could remember the specific word we were talking about…but this is along the same line. I would say my wife is a hero- as a stay @ home mom when the kids were little, a very thankless job,without any status. She gave it 110% and still does.

  2. Joy says:

    Yes, sometimes people use words for things they probably shouldn’t. I say “I love” too much for silly things. This is a good reminder.

  3. lawyerchik1 says:

    You’ve articulated very well the logic that led those in the military to dump on Clinton’s idea to give “everyone” in the military the beret (I think it was black, but I could be wrong….). There are badges of honor that are awarded to those who do something truly honorable and great, and doling those badges out to everyone diminishes the value of the effort given by true heroes. (Kinda like giving everyone in the class an A, so that nobody feels left out…..) Good post!

Leave a Reply

