GONE HUNTING!!

 

I’m leaving this morning to go to a friend of mine’s place to go hunting (today and tomorrow).  Charleston County South Carolina has the longest deer hunting season in the US.  It opens on August 15th and runs through January 1st.  And we don’t play around with primitive weapon season, shotgun season and rifle season.  Well, they do on Government land but on privately owned land its wide open the entire time.  You can shoot as many deer during the season as you want but are limited to two antler deer per day and there are doe days sprinkled throughout the season.  However, you  can also buy up to four doe tags ($5.00 each) from the Department of Natural Resources.

In SC we can also “bait” deer.  Which means we can put corn out for the deer to eat near where our stand is.  Now don’t imagine that we put corn down and the deer line up in herds to eat either.  They aren’t that stupid.

I say I’m going hunting but I believe it’s going to be a time of ministry too.  You see my friend’s wife lost her battle with liver cancer about a month ago.  So now he lives out in the country in their two-story house all by himself.  I guess his closest neighbor is just over a mile from him on the same road.  I can’t tell you how far away one of his friends lives… I’ve been over to his place a couple of times and I guess Buck is about 5 or 6 miles away.

My friend was going to stay with his (93 year old)  mother-in-law over Christmas.  He arrived at 5pm and ended up leaving at 2am.  I called him and he sounded so lost and depressed.  He said that there were so many pictures of his deceased wife around the house that he just couldn’t take it.  He just wrote his mother-in-law a note and left in the dark of night to come home.  That was from SC to VA and back in less than 18 hours!

So, I’m going to go up, cut some firewood, visit with my widower friend and sit in a deer stand for the next couple of days.  I sure do hope and pray that the Lord blesses my friend while I’m there.

I’m worried about him. 

 

4 Responses to GONE HUNTING!!

  1. I’ll be keeping him in my thoughts and prayers, this has to be such a rough time for him. (I can’t even imagine how I will feel when I lose Chris one day.)

    You have a great heart.

  2. Joy says:

    It’s very nice of you to do this for your friend. I’m going to leave the”baiting” of the deer alone for now since you have good intentions.

  3. Enola says:

    Hope you have a great time. Prayers for your friend.

  4. Erin says:

    I am a upland bird hunter myself, and sometimes it is ok to not actually shoot anything. I enjoy watching the dogs do what they love and were born to do. I love taking an armed walk in a field to sort out my thoughts, and listen for the still small voice of God speak to my spirit.

    Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

