TODAY I HAVE (NO) JURY DUTY!

 

I’ve actually been looking forward to jury duty.  It’s only in Small Claims Court but hey, you never know what nice people you will meet.

More later.  🙂

Well it’s later now.  What a HUGE DISSAPPOINTMENT!  I’m on my way down to court this morning and I figure I better give them a call.  Sure enough the recording said, “DO NOT REPORT FOR JURY DUTY.”

I guess somebody got cold feet and figured they would be better off settling before court.

Bummer.  😦

I don’t understand why people don’t like going to Jury Duty.  Sure I know it’s basically a day (or longer) of not doing your regular daily routine and it may actually cost you a few dollars but so what.   I think we all need to be a bit more civic minded and a little selfish with our time.  After all each and every individual gets the same 24 hours in a single day.  So if when a person slithers out of Jury Duty that just means someone else has to pick up their slack.

There’s enough slack in this country so let’s all embrace our Journey Into Jury Duty Land when time rolls around.

Man I wish they wouldn’t have settled!  😉

6 Responses to TODAY I HAVE (NO) JURY DUTY!

  1. Ooh, you are so lucky! Jury duty is hella fun.

  2. lawyerchik1 says:

    Good for you! Can’t wait to hear how it went.

  3. Joy says:

    I have never been called for jury duty but I know I’d be just like you and I think it would be very interesting and I’d like to do it.

  4. Enola says:

    I’d love to do it. But they’d kick me off for sure.

    • lawyerchik1 says:

      Me, too. Although, I remember one jury trial back in 2000 or 2001 in which we had an assistant prosecutor on the jury, and nobody kicked him off. He wasn’t too happy about that, either!!

  5. Des says:

    I got called in a few months ago. First time. I didn’t speak up when they were asking questions and thought for sure they’d pick me, but seems they picked those who wanted to talk a lot. Go figure.

Leave a Reply

