Prayer, obediance and benevolance

As I have looked over many blogs I have noticed a common theme in some.  A sense of almost despair.  Perhaps even feeling helpless.

I have been in that season more than once myself.  The thing that has helped me  most is conversing with my Lord.  I say conversing because a conversation involves more than just talking and reading a list of all my ales.  Conversing involves listening too.  Perhaps listening more than speaking.  

I think some (maybe even most) people don’t get that part of prayer.  Either that or they may spend so much time telling the Lord what He already knows that they leave very little time in their busy schedule to be still, quiet and listen.  Listen with their heart.  Listen needing to hear.  Listen expecting to hear.

When I read of Jesus the Christ and His times of prayer I see that His chosen times were most often in the early morning or late evening.  I think that is because the noise of the world is mostly silenced at those times.  I could be wrong but that’s what I think.  He even gave His disciples a specific time for them to watch and pray with Him.  One hour. 

Could we not each tarry one hour with the Lord?

It is also my personal belief that prayer should be audible.  Sure God can read our thoughts but Holy Scripture is replete with verses about the power of the tongue (the spoken word.)  Hey if nothing else think of praying out loud as letting the enemy know just how defeated you know he already is.

I was speaking with a friend of mine some time ago.  She and her husband were befuddled because I slipped by their home and left a sum of cash in an envelope on their door. 

Every once in a while I believe the Holy Spirit speaks to me to do such things and when I am certain of the amount and timing I simply obey.  I figure I would rather err on the side of benevolence than hording.

However, this whole concept was foreign to them.  They couldn’t think of accepting it.  Sure they believe in “Karma or whatever you want to call it.”   Sure she prays too.  Of course it’s usually when things are in dire straights but she prays.  So I want to say to her (but I didn’t) “Look you have a son, what if the only time you could get him to talk to you was when he was in dire straights…. and you had absolute power to put him in those dire straights; What would you do to get him to talk to you?”  Seems simple to me.

They each finally understood and grudgingly accepted the money.  She called me back a couple of days later and said that her husband had asked her; “Hey, wasn’t that the exact amount we spent last summer to by that lady an air conditioner?”  Yep it sure was.  Then she called the very next day.  “You won’t believe what happened today!”  Hubby’s aunt that never had any children died and they just got a check for exactly ten times the amount I had given them.

I have a computer program QuickVerse 6.0.  I found this and thought it fit nicely.

6. GIFT AND THE GIVER

For the real good of every gift it is essential, first, that the giver be in the gift—as God always is, for He is love—and next, that the receiver know and receive the giver in the gift. Every gift of God is but a harbinger of His greatest and only sufficing gift—that of Himself. No gift unrecognized as coming from God is at its own best: therefore many things that God would gladly give us must wait until we ask for them, that we may know whence they come. When in all gifts we find Him, then in Him we shall find all things.

George Macdonald, Second Series, “The Word of Jesus on Prayer”

7 Responses to Prayer, obediance and benevolance

  1. Joy says:

    When I talk to God, there are a lot of times I do it out loud. Not always but if I’m alone, I’ve been known to talk to him out loud.

    • mssc54 says:

      Most of the time when I am having a “focused” time of prayer it is verbally. However I am beginning to view all those moments of silent or times meditating on Spiritual matters is somewhat like what the Apostle Paul referred to as “Praying continually.”

  2. So I want to say to her (but I didn’t) “Look you have a son, what if the only time you could get him to talk to you was when he was in dire straights…. and you had absolute power to put him in those dire straights; What would you do to get him to talk to you?”

    I know you didn’t mean that to be funny, it’s powerful, but I just laughed when I read that. Because, of course.

    • mssc54 says:

      Hayden: I can see how you can see humor reading that senece. That “line” could be used in a slap-stick commedy.

      I trust things are well in TN.

      M

  3. marlajayne says:

    What keeps running through my mind is how we’ll talk to God and then go about our business without giving him a few minutes to answer us. Can you imagine one of your children telling you something and then running off without giving you a chance to respond? Or one of them asking you for something and then turning away before you have a chance to say aye or nay?

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: That sort of pattern just shows who we think is most important.

  4. Des says:

    The Monday Morning Quarterback in me says that if I’d been given the opportunity, I would have prayed for Jesus for that hour. But good grief, under the best of circumstances, my mind starts wandering after a minute of prayer.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: I “would have” made all the right decisions. Sure I would have.

    I have found that for me that wandering mind thing is conquered by audible prayer. It is impossible to fight a thought with a thought.

  5. Becky Covington says:

    I’ve also found that if i bring pens and paper with me while i have prayer time…as soon as those ‘things that i need to do’ thoughts pop in my mind, it’s good to just right them down. Who knows, it could be Holy Spirit ordering your day…then get back to connecting and listening to The Spirit. And, you might even get creative with that pen (or markers, or crayons, etc) : ) Afterwards..besides being refreshed and recharged, (hopefully) your day is a little more organized. Don’t think I always achieve this ….! I’m still just humanly human, with an awesome God who never gives up on me!

Leave a Reply

