TORTURE!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I recently engaged in some on line “discussion” about torture.  If you read this Blog regularly you more than likely know that my son-in-law, friend, employee was KIA in Afghanistan on February 19th, 2007.  If you haven’t read about our American Hero I encourage you to click on the links from the home page and do so.

I freely admit that I may have a unique point of view regarding he topic of torture.  Mostly because of the anguish of having to watch my daughter scream and moan as those two green army uniforms recited “On behalf of the United States Army we regret to inform you that your husband, Sgt. Buddy James Hughie, has been killed in action.”  They said some other stuff but I wasn’t really focused on that.

I fear to say that if I were given the opportunity to interrogate an individual (or individuals) whom may have information that would lead to others who are or were planning on killing any more of my family members….  Well, I’m not sure if I would be spiritually strong enough to hear the voice of the Lord in what He would want me to do.  And it is not at all clear (spiritually speaking) as too what the Lord would have me do.  I know, forgive seventy times seven, turn the other cheek and all but there is also an eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth.  Jesus (Himself) surely knew that Peter would draw his sword and slice off the ear of the soldier who came to arrest Him but he allowed it to happen any way.  Sure he miraculously put the ear back on the soldiers head but still, there was consequences for what the soldier did.

When Jesus was walking this very earth He said (paraphrase) that if anyone did evil to a child it would better for them to be drowned in the ocean than for them to do that!  So if I had information that an individual had information that there was going to be an orphanage bombed what would the Lord have me do to get that information and stop those orphans from being maimed and killed?

Another quandary for me is; who is to decide what torture really is.  Sure, I’ll admit that some torture is easy to define and understand.  Cutting off appendages, pulling teath and fingernails, branding or any other means of leaving a physical scar is easily recognised as torture. 

However, it has been that one “high value” terrorist was afraid of bugs.  Would it have been torture to place a bug on the table (in a jar) when he was questioned?  Playing loud music is torture?  Heck I tortured myself as a teenager!  Not letting someone sleep for a few days at a time is torture?  When I was in the US Navy we occasionally had twenty-four hour flight opps which did not allow for sleep for a couple of days.

Like I said some torture is definitely more easily recognised while others are not.

4 Responses to TORTURE!

  1. Joy says:

    I agree with you that different tortures could have drastic consequences for different people. While I don’t think it’s up to us to be the torturer, sometimes you have to do what you have to do.

  2. I appreciate your post. Something that has been a tremendous help to me in sorting out resisting evil is the link below. I’d love to hear your thoughts after you read this. Many blessings.

    http://www.nogreaterjoy.org/letters/questions-answered/archive/2007/december/24/pacifism/

    P.S. I am so very sorry for your family’s pain over the loss of your son-in-law in Afghanistan. I pray daily for our military these days.

  3. Des says:

    Shoot, I’ll talk if someone threatens to take away my desert!

    mssc54 replied:

    Well then I hope you aren’t put in a sensative position!

  4. tessa says:

    I do not understand the contradictions of the bible if you could please explain to me. Why do they say an eye for an eye and also say to forgive your neighbor? Does this mean we can kill or get revenge and then forgive them!? This really has never made sense to me and I have always wanted to ask.

    You sound like such a compassionate, loving man and father. I agree the definition of torture sure varies from person to person.

    I do believe in protecting people, so only in those exceptions is killing okay. But I do not believe in revenge or killing just to kill.

Leave a Reply

