What to do when things seem bleak.

As I was reading, praying and meditating this morning I found myself reading II Chronicles 20.

When I read/study Holy Scripture I try to not only understand the times in which those specific Words were Written but too also understand how they pertain to me, my family ant the Church today.

In first verses of  II Chronicles 20 we find a leader/king who is surrounded by very powerful enemies and things look very bleak for him and his people (household for me today).  This leader seeks the Lord as to what to do.  He calls all the people in the land (my home) to fast and pray to the Lord.  As the people (my family) fast and pray seeking the Lord the Lord reveals to them that the battle is NOT there battle.  In fact the Lord instructed them “be not afraid or dismayed.”  In other words do not focus on what you see in the natural world but remain focused on the Lord and His provision(s).   As the people (my family) are gathered together the king/leader (me) begins to remind the Lord of His power, victories and promises to “the seed of Abraham.”  At this point the people (my family) dwells there before the Lord (fasting and praying). 

The Lord destroys the enemies of the king/leader (me) and the people (my family) without them having to raise a hand in battle.  In fact, it is Written that the spoils of the battle are so great that it took them (the people) three days to gather them all up!  Now at this point I’m thinking, “I bet these weren’t just normal eight hour work days.”  Don’t you think that these people would have spent as much time as they could gathering up the spoils the Lord had given them?  I sure do.

Then on the fourth day the people (my family) came together and “blessed the Lord.”  At this point all the people (my family) returned home with joy in their hearts and lived in peace.

So, my dear friends, as we look at the world today and see (with our natural eyes) let us remember that the battle is not really ours.  Yes we have our part to play but our focus should be on the Lord.  Jesus, Himself, said “when you fast…”  If things seem dark and dreary for you at this time then I encourage you to change your focus.  Focus not on the things of this world but rather focus on the things of the spirit realm.  If you are too busy to take time to spend some directed, focused time with your Creator then don’t worry.  He will see to it that each and every one of us get to a point where we finally reach the point where we say “well, I guess all we can do now is pray.”

Join me, won’t you, in seeking the Lord each and every Monday for the rest of this year?  Let us band together and watch to see just how great and mighty our Lord is.

Running the race.

Mssc54

8 Responses to What to do when things seem bleak.

  1. Joy says:

    I like how you took what you were reading and saw yourself and your family in what was being said.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: I typically try to read Holy Scripture with the thought of “how does/can this apply to me/my family today?”

  2. God's girl says:

    Thanks for your comment on my blog. I answered you there if you’re interested. http:/capturedbyGod.wordpress.com

    I love that chapter that you referred to. I have heard God speaking to me through it before, but never thought of it in terms of applying to my family. Thanks for helping me to see it that way!

    Blessings! Jenny

    mssc54 replied:

    Jenny: I most always read Holy Scripture with the internal question of “How does/can this apply to me/my family right now?”

    Thanks so much for stopping by and commenting! 🙂

  3. Sue says:

    I like how you apply scripture to your family. Even though it was written so long ago, it still can apply today and everyday. I like to think I reflect on a regular basis, but if I got down to it I’d probably realize that’s not the case. I will try harder.

    mssc54 replied:

    Sue: We all have room for improvement. 😉

  4. I take it you don’t want to dance to “Groove Is In The Heart”, LOL.

    Actually, I think this is a very meaningful thing to do – to really put focus on what does matter and not the transient nature of the world. This was beautifully put, Mssc54.

    mssc54 replied:

    Hayden: My Mrs. doesn’t allow me to dance in public. lol

    Thanks for the compliment. I like to surprise people every once in a while. 🙂

  5. marlajayne says:

    What grabbed me about this post is the way you applied the scripture to your family. This morning someone in church was talking about a story of these men trying unsuccessfully to lift a piano. They then got closer together and lifted it together, hence “stand close together and lift where you are.” It makes so much sense to me that when families stand close together, they can lift so many things: their spirits, their confidence, their resources, and maybe even a piano.

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: Unity is one of the key themes in Holy Scripture. Thanks! 😉

  6. altonwoods says:

    great blog, I was reminded of this verse also…

    Isaiah 40:31 (King James Version)

    31But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.

    stay strong in the Lord!

    mssc54 replied:

    Altonwoods: Waiting on the Lord is a learned spiritual trait. Too often many people get involved in something and then asks the Lord to bless what they are involved in. Cart berfore horse.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  7. Tessa says:

    Amen. Everything I read, I also take it and ask myself how I can use it to better my relationship with God, with myself, and others or how it can help my family. The bible is very hard to interpret when I have tried. I think this weekend my husband and I should find a bible to bring home and I want to do this every Monday 🙂 It is a wonderful idea. Right now, a few times a week, I read Buddhist or Taoist scripture or words of wisdom and try to apply it daily.
    It is so true and thanks for sharing! We do not need to worry, try to force anything, we just need to have faith in God and a relationship with God daily.

  8. Tessa says:

    Marlajayan, I love what you wrote also. It is so, so true! I was just talking to my husband yesterday about this idea of unity. A friend of ours who has a 7 month old is very adamant about her son being independent. He feeds himself and plays by himself-so she does not have much work to do! She is trying to give me tips on how my son can feed himself too.

    But you know what? I LIKE to hold my son, play with my son, and enjoy him being a baby! What a concept, huh? Western culture puts more emphasis on independence and personal goals, but I think the real meaning in life comes from families being close-dependent on each other-and doing things together as a team. I think this is why our society has so many issues with homelessness, mental illness, crime-where is the family support and neighborly love?

Leave a Reply

