I’m dieing!

That’s right I’m dieing.  I’m dieing to “self”.  As I was reading this morning the biblical precept of a “seed” dying so that more “crops” can grow and mature into what they were meant to be.

Of course Jesus the Christ is the best example of this.  Having (willingly) given His life  in order that we may have life.

However it also occurred that we don’t need to physically die in order to produce “fruit.”   The thing is though that unless we are willing to sacrifice our self we will not be able to positively affect anyone.   In other words if we are the most important person in our life we are pretty self centered and (likely) of little use to others around us.

We should be willing to share our time, money and life with those who need us.  Now this doesn’t mean that we all should sell our possessions and head off to some third-world country.  It could be as simple as sharing a smile and affirming word to a sales clerk or cashier.  It could be that we get involved in youth sports.  Especially men.  It has been my observation that men are more selfish with their lives than women are. 

One of my pet-peeves is the church nursery.  How often do you see men in the church nursery?  Have you ever considered the number of children who attend a local church with their “single” mom?  How often do you think these children have the opportunity to be exposed to godly men?  Perhaps the only time this will happen is for two hours on a Sunday morning.

Look around you people.  How much need is ther?  Tons.  Determine to make a difference in someone’s life today.   Smile and say “good job.”  Sometimes all someone needs is a kind word.  But don’t stop there get involved with a life style of being a “Difference Maker.”

8 Responses to I’m dieing!

  1. “One of my pet-peeves is the church nursery. How often do you see men in the church nursery?”

    Be still my heart! I want to jump up and down and cheer – YES! No matter what state I’m in, nor what church I’m at, it always falls to women to take care of the nursery. I can’t tell you how passionate I am about your view of father-involved parenting.

  2. Joy says:

    Wow mssc, you really got to me with this one. How true. It’s the small things that seem to matter the most. I love the smile to the cashier. I would love to see more men spend time with children. I thank my lucky stars that my son’s spend a lot of time with their kids. My dream would be that all men did.

    Great post today. I loved it.

  3. leafless says:

    Jesus died because he loves us. Love is the greatest gift.

  4. The Real Gal says:

    Amen, is all I can say!

  5. marlajayne says:

    As you know from something I recently posted (and that you commented on), I’m earnestly striving to do more of this (serving others, being kinder than necessary, smiling, etc.), so this post really struck a responsive chord. I’ve found that it doesn’t have to be something huge; sometimes the little things make a big difference. As a for instance, last night we went to the local Huddle House after my Esther class at chuch. Our waitress (server or whatever the PC term is) was awesome. We were so impressed with her attitude! Anyway, our bill was only $12, but we left her a $5 tip, not because we’re wealthy but because she was (and probably still is!) so awesome.

  6. Des says:

    You should come to our church some time and look in at the nursery. I’d venture that 80% of the kid watchers are the dads.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: THAT’S AWESOME!!! You guys sould make a training video!

  7. Tessa says:

    Great idea for men to be more involved! There are SO many single moms and you are right that good men need to step up and be in the lives of those who need them. Woman, especially single moms, need to make it a number one goal to have their children around good men.
    Love this post! So true, I am not the most important person. IT is hard to realize this and tell yourself this. But we all struggle in life until we really “get” this concept.

  8. enola says:

    We have lots of men serving in our infant, toddler and children’s church nurseries. It’s really awesome. I have found that there are certain children that will not listen to a word I say, but have the male volunteer say it, and it’s a whole different story!

    mssc54 replied:

    Enola: Something about the male voice that gets children to “hear” better. lol
    I would love to see a bunch of men in a nursery… or heck even working children’s church. Y’all are doing something right there!

    Thanks for taking time to stop by and comment. Hope you’re feeln better.

Leave a Reply

