President Obama could care less for wounded Veterans!

During the most recent Presidential election cycle I stated that I was basing my vote on which candidate I (personally) thought would be BEST for the military and veterans.  I further stated that it was/is my beliefe that Mr. Obama would gut the military and find some way to minimize veteran’s care.

On the one hand this story has me so ticked off.  However, on the other hand my faith and provision does not (ultimately) come from the government.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/03/10/veterans.health.insurance/index.html

Can you imagine requiring wounded, disabled American Veterans to pay for their own insurance in order to  receive medical care for injuries received during the service to their country?

This is just dispicable.  Now let’s send the banks, the automobile industry and all the political ear marks as much money as they want!

You watch, the next thing that will happen is they will lower the amount of money widows receive when their military spouse in killed in action.

Well America voted for change and it looks like they will get what the voted for.

Unbelieveably disrespectful.

15 Responses to President Obama could care less for wounded Veterans!

  1. Service to our country deserves better than this.

    Health care in the US is a joke already but this is ridiculous. I hope this is a rumor and, if not, the idea dies a quick and permanent death.

    mssc54 replied:

    Hayden: No kidding! Due to an injury I sustained while on active duty in the Navy I have developed numerous bone spurs on the top of my ankle joint. The head VA orthopedic Dr said that they don’t do that surgery (remove bone spurs) because I may just need to have it done again in a few years. What?! So I went out and had it done on my own. Now I’ve been waiting for about two weeks for an appoint to do physical therapy at the VA. Waiting….waiting….waiting…. sigh.

  2. kweenmama says:

    Amen!

    mssc54 replied:

    Kweenmama: And again I say amen! 😉

  3. Joy says:

    You know what, I can’t even make an intelligent comment. I just feel so sad. I did not want this man but thought hey, it’s a free country and we had to be “big” about it. I get more sickened as each day passes and it leaves me to wonder, what did the American see in this man other than “polished” speeches and a good delivery? He has already broken promises and many hearts of people I know who were fooled by him.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: If you can not make an intelligent comment on this perhaps you are qualified for a position in the current Administration! 🙂

  4. Des says:

    I can’t imagine McCain ever doing something like this.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: Sigh, don’t even get me started. rrrrrr

  5. Sue says:

    Ugh. I can’t even comment. This is going to be a long 4 years:(

    mssc54 replied:

    Surgical Sue: Thank God I’m not relying on the government.

  6. Ed Darrell says:

    So, why are you taking the position of the insurance companies against the vets?

    Obama is at least trying to get value for the veterans: They pay premiums for health care, but then the insurance companies get a free ride when the federal government provides care.

    Why should the insurance companies profit at the expense of soldiers? You guys think the AIG execs should get bonuses, too, I’ll bet.

    Please, when you turn your backs on veterans, don’t play like it’s Obama doing it, and that disgusts you. If you’re going to say the vets should get screwed by the insurance companies, be honest about it.

    With “patriots” like you, it’s going to be a very long 8 years.

    mssc54 replied:

    Ed: First of all thanks for taking the time to stop my blog and comment.

    I’m going to have to reread my post. One of us has issues with reading comprehension. FYI I am a 40% DAV and am more intimately aware of how the VA system works. I AM NOT for the insurance companies. Even with all the faults I can not imagine ANY VETERAN having to pay for their own health care for service connected injuries.

    As a quick aside just last month I had to have numerous bone spurs surgically removed from my ankle (service connected injury from 1976). However, the orthopedic surgeons at the VA told me “We don’t do that surgery. You will more than likely have to have it done again in a few years.” So I had it done myself. Now I’ve been waiting almost two weeks for the (VA) physical therapy to call so I can begin PT.

    The good news is that the way things are looking it won’t be 8 years… just 4!

    Thanks for serving.

  7. Ed Darrell says:

    Veterans health care suffers from a lot of problems, many of them severe. One problem the system doesn’t suffer from is too much money.

    One of us suffers from reading comprehension problems, true. I don’t think it’s me.

    Here’s what I see: Obama is looking into why it is that veterans who pay for health insurance collect nothing from the insurance companies when they get treatment. Unless the veterans are stupid, which you may wish to argue but I will not, or the insurance companies are particularly evil and deceptive, and have hoodwinked the soldiers into paying into a fund that they can’t collect from, any administrator looking at the costs of the system would be required by fiduciary duty to ask why the vets are getting screwed.

    So Obama asks. And you guy’s hit him for it.

    Your difficulties getting treatment don’t offer any light on this case, other than you’re frustrated at not getting care as anyone would be.

    So, I still cannot understand why you’re slamming Obama and standing up for the group screwing the vets. Can you explain it?

    mssc54 replied:

    Ed: “Veterans health care suffers from a lot of problems, many of them severe.” You can only gleen so much information by reading (official) reports and of course news reports. Being in “the system” gives one a totally different perspective and insight.

    Obama is looking into why it is that veterans who pay for health insurance collect nothing from the insurance companies when they get treatment.” Now THAT’S an interesting take. Veterans (currently) do not pay health care insurance for service connected injuries. In fact when a veteran receives treatment from the VA for a non service connected treatment/service the veteran’s health care providor is billed. I know this for a fact.

    So what Obama is actually trying to do is require veterans to carry their own health care and receive treatment (for service connected issues) on their own. This is dispicable! First of all the Commander in Chief is the one who sent the wounded veteran into harms way. Now to renig on careing for them is just… well shows his true colors. Secondly in some cases (with profound) injuries the veteran may well max out their policy thereby leaving the family without coverage. Thirdly, veterans are used as training aids. You won’t find a VA hospital any where there is not a Medical University. Those wanting to learn the practice of medicine get to learn by practicing on veterans. If you take this pool of training aids (veterans) away from the Medical Universities where would they train? Perhaps on the White House staff and other government employees?

  8. Ed Darrell says:

    So what Obama is actually trying to do is require veterans to carry their own health care and receive treatment (for service connected issues) on their own. This is dispicable!

    There is no proposal on the table. The closest we’ve come to seeing what is being considered is Obama’s guy saying he thought insurance companies should have to pay for treatments they’ve collected money for and agreed to treat — a contract issue, really — instead of sloughing the bill off to the VA.

    There is no proposal there for a new charge for new insurance. What proposal are you looking at?

    mssc54 replied:

    It now appears that Pelosi/Obama have changed their minds on this mal-treatment of wounded veterans. Fortunately Obama’s blunder came early in his term. The American people have short memories. Fortuntely I think veterans are a bit less forgiving of those who have considered abusing them.

    CNN reports “WASHINGTON (CNN) — Veterans Affairs Secretary Eric Shinseki confirmed Tuesday that the Obama administration is considering a controversial plan to make veterans pay for treatment of service-related injuries with private insurance.” Here’s the link.

    http://www.cnn.com/2009/POLITICS/03/10/veterans.health.insurance/index.html

    Fox News reports Obama wants private insurance to reimburse the VA for treatment. “President Obama’s plan to require private insurance carriers to reimburse the Department of Veterans Affairs for the treatment of troops injured in service has angered veterans groups who say the government has a moral obligation to pay for service-related medical care.

    Here’s the link. http://www.foxnews.com/politics/first100days/2009/03/17/vets-group-blasts-obama-plan-private-insurance-pay-service-related-health-care/

  9. Ed Darrell says:

    If veterans were less forgiving about those who abuse them, Bush and Cheney would have been out on their butts in 2004, had they not been forcibly removed by a mob.

    Alas, Veterans are as prone to erroneous political views as anyone else. Why not? They fought to defend the right.

    mssc54 replied:

    Ed: “If veterans were less forgiving about those who abuse them, Bush and Cheney would have been out on their butts in 2004, had they not been forcibly removed by a mob.

    I always find it very interesting how those who have never served in the military can profess to know how those of us who have feel.

    Perhaps veterans supported Commander in Chief Bush because they believe in their mission.

    Only someone like President Obama (who has never served a single day in the military) would look at the American Veteran as a source of “income” to make himself look good. President Obama and Rahm Emanuel are dispicable characters for trying to line the coffers of their political banks at the expense of the American Service member.

  10. Ed Darrell says:

    I am always amused at the assumptions people make without any basis in fact whatever.

    Perhaps veterans support Commander in Chief Obama because they believe in their mission. Perhaps it was a tiny minority of people who disagreed with the consideration of making insurance companies pay veterans what the veterans are owed.

    I cannot figure out why you defend shorting veterans on medical care. Only someone with an axe to grind would accuse Obama of “looking at the American Veteran as a source of income” when the money would be coming from insurance companies who today take the money from soldiers and put it directly to their profit lines, without doing a lick of good for vets.

    It is despicable politics that brands men looking out for veterans as despicable for doing so. Emmanuel, by the way, is a veteran.

    And while we’re at it, a quick check of veterans’ health care sites at the VA’s website shows that about 80% of them are not at teaching hospitals. Even the VA hospitals are not always teaching hospitals — like Waco, Dallas, the establishments in Idaho, Salt Lake City, and many others.

    I think you’re making some errors here in assuming your experience is common to everyone everywhere. It’s not so.

    mssc54 replied:

    Ed: Some people are more easily amused than others.

    Let me state emphatically that I am not nor have I ever condoned shorting veterans on anything much less the health care they so righly deserve (both by contract and morally).

    Please, if you can, explain to me and the vast number of individuals that read my blog just how it is that you figure that private insurance companies are shortchanging veterans on their health car. Veterans who go to a VA Hospital for service connected issues (currently) receive their treatment at no co$t. Their private insurance companies are not billed because their injuries were sustained “on the job” and the government is (currently) responsible for their treatment. In fact private health care excludes treatment of service connected injuries.

    So 80% of VA Hospitals are “free standing” facilities and are not run in conjunction with a Medical University. You don’t really think that these free standing facilities only employ fully licensed, graduated med school and finished their internships doctors do you? Of course not. I will say again, veterans are used as training aids. Period.

    Look Ed, it’s obvious you are an Obama supporter. That’s fine as it is your right. But don’t try to tell us that Obama is only looking to help veterans by privatizing their health care. If Obama was genuinely concerned about HIS obligation to veterans he would have at least considered the moral obligation the government has to our fighting men and women. I won’t bother hunting down how I know he rebuffed the moral issue. You are quite capable of doing that yourself… if you care to see it.

  11. Ed Darrell says:

    Generally one gets only the best care at a teaching hospital. I guess I missed the point that you think medical schools provide inferior care — generally the opposite. Our presidents go to VA facilities in D.C. or George Washington U — all training facilities. I shared a urologist with President Reagan — president of the national urologists’ association. I didn’t think it was “training aid” stuff.

    Yes, if a physician is acting as a physican, she is a fully trained, licensed physician — even in residency.

    Please, if you can, explain to me and the vast number of individuals that read my blog just how it is that you figure that private insurance companies are shortchanging veterans on their health car. Veterans who go to a VA Hospital for service connected issues (currently) receive their treatment at no co$t. Their private insurance companies are not billed because their injuries were sustained “on the job” and the government is (currently) responsible for their treatment. In fact private health care excludes treatment of service connected injuries.

    It’s simple. In those cases in which a soldier has purchased supplementary insurance, or has other insurance (because he or she is in the National Guard or Reserve), the insurance company is collecting money from the soldier to provide care. If the VA provides care, the insurance company is not billed.

    Especially for those cases where VA doesn’t cover the entire cost, because it’s not a service-related issue, do you think the insurance companies should not pay? Considering that the veterans’ care system is extremely strapped for money, do you still think the insurance companies should take money from the soldiers and fail to pay the soldier as agreed?

    You’re assuming, contrary to any statement, that Obama’s proposal was to require soldiers to buy insurance for service-related injuries. Why do you assume that?

    mssc 54:

    Ed: Sigh… Well of course the best doctors the VA has to offer are treating our Presidents. I mean you wouldn’t let two or three “green” doctors examine the President before the attending came in.

    I guess we will have to agree to disagree on the “best” care at teaching hospitals. That has not been my personal experience. When I received my discharge physical the doctors found lumps in my thyroid glands. Some were liquid some solid. I was told that I likely had cancer but that the surgery clinic could not perform the necessry surgery for six months. I waited. When I awoke from the surgery there was a “horse shoe” of white coats around my bed. The Head Doctor asked me a question and I answered with a very muted/raspy voice. There was a cumulative sigh from the white coats. You see in order to become certified/accomplished sergeons they need “x” number of hours behind the knife. While they were taking turns on me they severely bruised my vocal cords and I couldn’t speak for over two months. But at least they didn’t make me a complete mute.

    Later I was having issues with my ankle giving out on me once in a while (service connected disability). Upon examination the orthopedic surgeons told me that they could fuse my ankle bones together and that would keep my ankle from giving way. I asked if that would affect the way I walk. They told me that it would not affect my gate, that I could still move my ankle sideways just not up and down. Huh?! I left the VA that day and did not return until twenty years later when my son-in-law was KIA in Afghanistan. You can click on the “Our American Hero” and/or “Sgt Buddy James Hughie” if you care to.

    I won’t go into all the details of how the VA has failed me here but I will say that I did finally end up writing the Director a letter when the orthopedic surgeons (again) faialed to properly read my MRI. Fortunately I had gotten a copy of the MRI and took it to a civilian doctor. I included the civilian doctors report in my letter to the Director. They admitted that they had missed “it”.

    I do think that insurance companies try to slight their insurreds all the time. However, health care policies are written to exclude active duty injuries. It is not the responsibility of a service member’s insurance company to pick up Uncle Sam’s slack. It is wholely and moraly Uncle Sam’s responsibility to provide care for all service connected injuries. Period.

    Finally “You’re assuming, contrary to any statement, that Obama’s proposal was to require soldiers to buy insurance for service-related injuries. Why do you assume that?”

    Well I assume that because he has already established a policy of lieing. Just look at all the campaign promises he has already broken. I assume that, Ed, because President Obama has already proven that he will do whatever necessary to make himself look good. If he can do that at the expense of veterans then I believe he will not give it a secons thought.

    And although President Obama did not (specifically) say he would require injured service members to purchase their own health care it was presented that way in the CNN piece I linked in earlier comments.

    I THINK VETERANS PAYMENT FOR HEALTH CARE WITH BLOOD AND LIMBS IS PAYMENT IN FULL!!

  12. jeepndesert says:

    this is just scratching the surface. go to infowars.com to keep up on what is really happening. the financial oligarchy is the anti-christ.

    mssc54 replied:

    Jeepndesert: I wonder why it was that Jesus spoke more about money than any other “topic?”

  13. Tessa says:

    Do we really know 100% that this is true they are considering proposing this? The media does catch on to rumors and does write false information sometimes. I hope it is a rumor. This would be wrong. My husband is a sailor and I would be very upset about this.

  14. Tessa says:

    I liked Obama because I read interviews with the Navy he did and he seemed to want to really focus on improving military benefits. Also, his wife has this as a goal. I hope it is not a lie.

  15. Ed Darrell says:

    We know for certain that the proposal is off the table. Speaker Pelosi made that clear last week (Wednesday?).

    Despite the fact that it would save veterans money, the veterans’ complaints persuaded Obama to leave it alone. No change.

    mssc54 replied:

    Ed: You’re wearing me out man. How does veterans’ care get cheaper than free?! (monetarily that is)

Leave a Reply

