Do you appreciate your spouse?

Family in bed together bonding

On May the 4th me and my Mrs. will be celebrating our 35th wedding anniversary.   As with all marriages we have had some challenging times as well as times of shear bliss.

I had surgery on my ankle about a month ago which has caused me to be quite a bit more sedentary than usual.  This time has given me cause to pause and consider many things in my life.  Choices made.  Chances passed up.  Mistakes.  Successes.  The list goes on.

Since I am unable to move about as I normally would, I have had to rely on others for alot of things.  The first week after surgery my oldest daughter left work just to bring me lunch.  She not only fed my stomach that day but more importantly (to me) she fed my spirit.  Knowing that she would be thinking about me and be willing to go so far out of her way to serve her ailing daddy.  I think that not only speaks to how her mother and I raised her but more importantly speaks of our relationship.

I’ll tell you what though, my Mrs. has really had to carry the load since I am unable.  Honestly though, she has always done so.  The woman is just driven.  Back “in the day” she worked full time and went to school full time at night and on weekend.  She went on to earn her MEd in Math and Science that way!  She’s a brilliant woman.  Now that she teaches high school math she not only teaches during the day but brings homes piles and piles of papers to grade every single night!

She really is amaszing, I don’t know how she does it.  For the last month (on top of her regular stuff) she has had to do the things I normally do too.  Heck, she even fussed at me for being up and doing things.  She has done all this and never, once complained.  

My Mrs. is quite a remarkable woman and I not only love her to pieces but I appreciate her too!

8 Responses to Do you appreciate your spouse?

  1. Joy says:

    I’m very happy for you and am so happy you have that relationship with your daughter. She loves you, that is clear. I’d like to think that both my boys would do the same.

    I really do appreciate Paul. A LOT. We’re right behind you by a few years. We’ll have our 30th this fall. We are good friends first and foremost. We’ve had our times but we’ve always managed to keep the friendship above everything else. Congrats to you and your Mrs.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: I hope you never have to find out if your boys would do that for you. It stinks to be stuck at home. lol

    I think “spouse appreciation” is way underrated.

  2. Shena says:

    Aww…how sweet. I know u mean every word too! Luv what I read and luv u too.

    mssc54 replied:

    #1 Daughter: I sure do honey! I love you all the way to Ashley Fender’s house.

  3. starlaschat says:

    That’s a really nice post! Yes indeed Congratulations. And nice to see that you have such good women in your life. I’m lucky I adore my spouse life is good. Also lucky to have a wonderful Father.

    mssc54 replied:

    Starlaschat: Thank you, welcome and thanks for stopping by my blog. 🙂

  4. Tessa says:

    So sweet of you to write this!! I hope my hubbie and I will be married that long and longer too. We have only been married 3 years-together 6, but have been through 2 major surgeries each and 2 minor sugeries each and the birth of a child together!! And the lose of 2 family members each. So we know how important and good it feels to be taken care of by the other!! It truly is a time where it really shows you are appreciated! Thanks for sharing.

  5. Oh, be still my heart. You guys are WONDERFUL.

    mssc54 replied:

    Hayden: Thank you. I’m excited for my girls. The whole crew rented a house near Disney for a week and they are all doing the Orlando thing together!

  6. Des says:

    Congrats on your upcoming anniversary! 35 and still counting.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: Thank you.

  7. marlajayne says:

    One of the books I’ve rediscovered lately is The Five Languages of Love, and since my language is “words of affirmation,” I loved reading your accolades of/for your wife. My husband isn’t moved or impressed that much with words, but he LOVES for me to do things for him. It doesn’t have to be huge, but whenever I cook a favorite meal or iron a shirt, he’s pleased.

    May is a great month. Our anniversary is May 5.

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: That’s one of the keys; recognise our spouse’s love language and filling tht love tank with their fuel instead of the fuel we want.

  8. Michelle says:

    I just want to say that I don’t get by here as often as I would like. That is a really great post. I am sure your Mrs appreciates it. Even if she hasn’t read it I know your # 1 Daughter has told her. I am very pleased to see that you appreciate all she has done over the years. I am also pleased that the two of you are at the point you are, 35 years who would have thought??
    Tell her HAPPY BIRTHDAY today for me would you?
    Love you little brother.

    mssc54 replied:

    Michelle: Good to see you around. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

