You can’t wear that!

This morning our little guy was getting dressed for school.  He wanted to wear a nice sweater that is designated “church clothes.”

I just don’t get it.  I mean, what’s the big deal if a kid wants to wear something nicer than usual?  I know, I know, nicer clothes cost more and all but c’mon…

When we decided to adopt these two little kids I made a conscious decision to do some things differently.  One of them was too not sweat the small stuff.  I think if a kid wants to wear an orange shirt with plaid pants, white socks and red tennis shoes… What’s the big deal?  So the kids looks funny. 

We want our children to express themselves except for when they dress themselves (now when they get to be teens I will have a say on how the little girl dresses).

However, one of the most important things I consciously/deliberately decided when we decided to adopt our “new kids.” Is to pick my “battles” carefully.  5:40 a.m. is not the time to begin a skirmish, much less a battle!

We are going to need to have a(nother) discussion about what is really important and what is not.

4 Responses to You can’t wear that!

  1. Joy says:

    Okay, who needs to have this little “discussion?” Kind of sounds like the Mrs decided what clothes were “church” clothes. Good luck.

    I agree with you. Who cares what they wear? It’s so not important right now. If they want to wear it, it means nothing really bothers them. My youngest son wore the wildest and goofy clothes ever and I never minded. The deal was with him though, because he is the worlds worst PUTZ, was that the clothes had to be decided upon before bed and laid out and ready to go.

    I want to hear how this ends.

  2. “I think if a kid wants to wear an orange shirt with plaid pants, white socks and red tennis shoes…”

    That gives me warm fuzzies.

    mssc54 replied:

    Hayden: A few months ago someone gave our little guy a red Power Ranger outfit that their son had outgrown. It has little muscles sewn into the chest, shoulders and arms. Today he brings it to me and asks, “Daddy, will you help me with this?” He’s so dang cute! lol

  3. psychscribe says:

    Yeah, you’re right…why fight over what they wear? Though I do remember my issues with my kids when they were small, note I said MY issues…because I felt like how they behaved and how they presented themselves were a reflection of ME…and I didn’t want the school to think badly of me….didn’t matter…the kids won anyway! And I never got a note from the school over mismatched clothes!

    mssc54 replied:

    Psychscribe: Haha! I’m going to use that “never got a note from the school over mismatched clothes” thing! 😉

  4. Des says:

    Too funny. BTW, I enjoyed reading your bio over at DM’s blog.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: I say let the kids dress themselves while they are in elementary school! 😉

Leave a Reply

