Comfort is a gift which must be received.

THE ONE WHO CALMS ALL STORMS!

For the last few (or several) weeks I’ve been “camping out” on Psalm 37.

http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm%2037&version=31

I came across this by first having an inner urge to begin regularly reading Psalms.  Since there are 150 Psalms I can not explain how exactly I was guided  to Psalm 37 specifically.  I do believe that it was Providence.

The first day I read Psalm 37 I received an email from an individual who reads this blog.  In part this person stated that, due to some outside forces, their family was experiencing some challenging situations.  I immediately responded via email that I had just that very morning read Psalm 37 and  for some reason it resonated with me.  I suggested they read it over.  A short time later I received a follow up email letting me know that they had sat down and read it together and  as they did tears came to their eyes.  Psalm 37 spoke (specifically) to the heart of their “season.”   Coincidence?

The next week, while attending the weekly bible study at my local church, my pastor said, “Now I want to read you something from the book of Psalm.”  By this time I had been reading, studying, meditating and just going over Psalm 37 a good bit.  So I poked the guy sitting nex to me and whispered “Watch… Psalm 37.”  Sure enough pastor read Psalm 37.  Another coincidence?

The very next morning (since I’m laid up from ankle surgery) I did something that I’ve never done.  After finishing my regular morning routine I sat down and click on HBO.  There was a program on about black leaders (I forget the title).  I watched for a while and then none other than the Reverand Al Sharpton came on.  I can’t recall all that he said but it was something about when he was a young boy there was a minister he looked up to.  This minister taught him from…. yep, you guessed it from Psalm 37!  Yet, another coincidence?

Now I am sure that not every person who reads this Psalm will take from it what I have and do.  For each of us are in a different place and season.  My (current) understanding of Holy Scripture is ever evolving as I seek to have a closer union with my Creator.  Just as I better understand my Mrs. as the years go by so do I better understand my Master as the years go by.

I encourage each of you who find your way here to this post to consider if it is just by hapenstance (or coincidence) that you are here or is there a Higher, deeper meaning for you to be here, today, reading these very words.

May we each be richly blessed as we recognise that there is only One Who can calm the storms in our lives and recognise that when we keep our focus on the Prince of Peace, His Peace surpasses all understanding.

The power is where my focus is.

5 Responses to Comfort is a gift which must be received.

  1. Sue says:

    Something like this is not a coincidence. How can it be? God works in mysterious ways, but you have seen it and are listening. You’re kinda lucky! Take care and have a good weekend.

    mssc54 replied:

    Surgical Sue: I am certain that these things are not mere coincidence. As for God working in mysterious ways. I think God is somewhat like a spouse. The more time you spend with Him the fewer things He “hides” from you. 😉

    Thanks!

  2. Des says:

    “Just as I better understand my Mrs. as the years go by so do I better understand my Master as the years go by.”

    Which is why I guess we’ll need eternity with God to truly understand the Infinite.

  3. brianshaw says:

    If you can get to where you understand your Mrs., understanding your Master will be the easy part (JK ladies).

    I had the same experience with a verse years ago. Coincidence is often God’s way of speaking to us.

    Psalm 37 is timely for the current economic crisis we face:

    Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of those who do wrong; for like the grass they will soon wither, like green plants they will soon die away.Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. ~Psalm 37:1-3

    mssc54 replied:

    Brainshaw: I think there a few reasons I continue to glean things from this specific Psalm. The current state of our United States is one of them.

    Good to see you around again. Don’t be such a stranger… not that you’re strange or anything. 😉

  4. marlajayne says:

    Your post sent me right to the scriptures to read all 40 verses of this wonderful, reassuring chapter. There are so many good reminders there like “fret not,” “trust in the Lord and do good,” and “He is ever merciful.”

    I’m not sure that there is really any such thing as a true coincidence, are you?

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: I don’t think there are coincidences. I think our lives are divinely ordered… even when we take the wrong path there is purpose, if we choose to recognise it or not.

  5. Tessa says:

    I love it. The power is where my focus is. It is so true. What we think about, what we do, is what we attract. I do not believe in coincidences. I believe in God, in Divine energy, and the Law of Attraction. That is really a neat story what happened with Psalm 37- I want to read it now!
    I love your reply to Sue. That is very true!! If you hide from God, he hides from you (well, he is never hiding, we just need to look and listen).

    mssc54 replied:

    Tessafroom: I too believe that our lives are divinely ordered. I had almost forgotten about the Law of Attraction!

Leave a Reply

