An anniversary is something that should be celebrated.

just-b

Sgt. Buddy James (Doc) Hughie

Bronze Star with Valoe (X2) – Purple heart

 

 

In Loving Memory Of

SGT. BUDDY JAMES HUGHIE

Husband, Father, Son and an

American Hero

October 23, 1981 – February 19, 2007

 

Entered eternal rest serving in

Operation Enduring Freedom

Afghanistan, Asia

In some ways it is very difficult to realize that two years have gone by since that Taliban sniper changed so many lives.  In other ways it seems like it just happened last night.

The most common question I am asked is “How’s your daughter doing… and the baby?”

Well it’s obvious that God’s grace and mercy has over shadowed our entire family but especially the widow and the fatherless.

I’ve written extensively about the early days.  If you haven’t read and care to here it is:

https://mssc54.wordpress.com/our-american-hero/  As you read over our story just remember our family is but one of thousands of families who have received that same knock at the front door.

I thought I would leave you with a few pictures of the Buddy we knew.  The husband.  The father.  The friend.

100_1558-2

100_0550100_0519100_0536-2

 

 

 

 

 

 

100_05501100_0582100_05821100_05502

11 Responses to An anniversary is something that should be celebrated.

  1. I hope today is a healing one for you. I’d salute if I were military, but all I can do is tell you that my heart is with you.

    mssc54 replied:

    Hayden: Thank you.

  2. Joy says:

    I am wordless. Aaawww……it’s all I can say. It’s not often I have no words but you did it to me with this one. I’m with Hayden. My heart is with you.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: Thank you.

  3. Mary says:

    God bless you. Words fail to express.. . . . my heart goes out to you and your family.

    mssc54 replied:

    Mary: I know that you know how this journey has unfolded in our lives over the last couple of years.

    Thank you.

  4. Lindsey says:

    My prayers are with you and your family today. May God’s blessings continue to follow you and your loved ones.

    mssc54 replied:

    Lindsey: It is amazing that God’s blessings truly are around us, if we care to see them.

    Thank you.

  5. ransom33 says:

    Dear Michael,

    I pray that God will, in His perfect way, heal the void that Buddy’s death has left in your family and that he will place people and new circumstances in your life which will allow you to not only rejoice for having had Him as part of your lives but also to help you look to the future with joy and the hope that God’s perfect love and provision will cast out all fear.

    With much love,

    ransom33 @ http://www.ransom33.wordpress.com

    mssc54 replied:

    Ransom33: Without question, this has been the most difficult season my family has ever had to walk through but walk we do.

    It is amazing that as time passes I am able to look back and see that, in spite of the anguish, the Prince of Peace has been there all along.

    Our lives keep unfolding with new joys by and by.

    Thank you.

  6. Sue says:

    *ahh…clears throat after getting choked up on PB sandwich* May God continue to bless you and your family through these tough times. I can’t even begin to know what you have gone through and continue to go through, but know that we are all with you and pray for your healing.

    mssc54 replied:

    Surgical Sue: Most days are better but days like today…

    Thank you.

  7. Hobo says:

    I pray for you and your Family regularly. I will continue because you and your family are very Special to me. I did not know Buddy, but what you have shared with us in your messages about him.
    Thank you for that. He has become Special to me also.

    Isn’t it Great God is so in control of everything……….

    Love to All…..

    Hobo

    mssc54 replied:

    Hobo: It is so very good to see you here and to read your kind and prayerful message. I yearn for your covering as you bring my family before the Throne of Grace.

    Blessings to you and yours my Brother,
    M

  8. Joni says:

    Peace be with you.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joni: And also with you.

    Thank you.

  9. TRO says:

    I am so sorry for your loss, yet so proud of your son’s – and your – sacrifice. My God be with you always.

    mssc54 replied:

    TRO: Thank you so much. Buddy was my son-in-law. However, Buddy never met his father and I never had a son. We worked side by side in my business for nearly a year. Every day we rode next to each other in our work van. We talked about everything. One day we sat down for lunch at the local hot-wing place. The waitress brings our food over and Buddy looks at me and says to me (looking me in the eye), “Well, before we eat I hafta ask you something.” What’s that, I replied. “I would like your permission to marry Alexis.” I told him that I would be happy to take our relationship to the next level and of course granted my blessing.

    He truly was a remarkable young man. I had more than one business owner ask me if I would be willing to let them hire Buddy away from me.

    Although Buddy and I were not related by blood (through counseling) I fully realized that I had adopted Buddy into my heart as my very own son. I like to think that he felt the same way about me.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  10. psychscribe says:

    Oh…I’m sorry I’m a week late with this, but I do so appreciate your son in law’s valor, and am so very sorry for your family’s loss…may God bless you with his miraculous comfort and peace…

    mssc54 replied:

    Psychscribe: Thank you. If we choose to see God’s blessings, they are all around.

  11. tessa says:

    Thanks for sharing. God has blessed you, so I don’t have to say God bless you, but peace be with you. You are an inspiring, wonderful man and I am sure Buddy was the same. Let’s all support and remember the troops still protecting us right now.

    mssc54 replied:

    Tessa: You’re right He has blessed us. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

