We passed our inspections! However…

Well the Department of Health and Environmental Control came by first.  No problems.  She checked the temperature of our hot water at the tap, checked for safety locks on cabinets.

They as a quick aside she mentions that instead of putting locks on the cabinets we could just put our cleaning supplies on the top shelf in the laundry room.  Now that I think about it… I should have replied, “No way! Those corrosive compounds will destroy my hand guns.”  I was smart and kept that to myself.  Actually, I gave my rifle and shotgun to a friend I go to church with.  I figure I only go hunting a couple a times a year anyway.  He will let me borrow them back.

Next up was the State Fire Marshal and the Regions Three Adoptions lady.  No violations, but…  Did you know when they say ANY “ABC” fire extinguisher they really mean the bigger one with the hose that runs down the side?  Well they do.  So we have to get new fire extinguishers.  Now, do you remember seeing those fire escape drawings with the “You Are Here” mark on them on the back of the Motel 6 door?  We have to put one on each door of the kids’ room.   Also, come to find out we are supposed to be having MONTHLY FIRE DRILLS!!  Well, thanks for letting us know.  I guess that means we are only behind by THIRTY-THREE FIRE DRILLS!

I found it a bit humorous when my Mrs. called while we were all sitting around the kitchen table (me answering questions under a heat lamp).  I said, “Oh, not to bad  Honey.  But they keep raising the hoop so high I can barely jump through it now.”   lol  I crack myself up.

So anyway, we have both of our certificates from the various state/county agencies.  We are supposed to have our first (monthly lol) visit from our adoption case worker Thursday afternoon.

Gosh, I wish they would just finish this process and leave us to raising “our kids!”

Post a fire escape plan on the doors… hahahahahahahaha.  I’ll get right on that.  😉

10 Responses to We passed our inspections! However…

  1. Sue says:

    On the bright side, they gave you the certificates!!! Good luck with the rest of it and I hope it moves fast for you.

    mssc54 replied:

    Surgical Sue: Absolutely! However, I did singe my back hair jumping through that last flaming hoop. 🙂

  2. Michelle says:

    Ok so that is over with. Now tell me again how old your oldest daughter is….. Did you tell the girls about the fire drill and the map. I am sure they want to get right on that too. How in the world did we raise our kids without all the “help”? I don’t think you need a fire drill EVERY month those kids are smart and they will figure it out after once.
    Anyway congrats on the hoop jumping especially with the “drumstick”

    mssc54 replied:

    Michelle: Haha 29 – 25 -19 are the ages of our bio-daughters. I haven’t told them about the fire drills or the “Motel 6” escape plan yet.

    I was afraid I would catch the “drumstick” on that last hoop and bee cooked to death! 🙂

    Good to hear from you.

  3. Joy says:

    Aaawwww, all those pesky little things that the rest of the world doesn’t have!! Shame on you for not knowing! tsk, tsk…..

    It’s really almost over and you’ll do fine.

    I can’t believe you called Sue “Surgical Sue.” That cracks me up. That’s what my brother calls her!!

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: A mirical isn’t it, that our grown daughters managed to survive into adulthood!

    Haha, “Surgical Sue” these things just come to me. It’s a gift. 😉

  4. marlajayne says:

    I haven’t read all of your posts on the adoption process yet, but what I’m thinking after reading this one and one right before it is that people who have a fervent and abiding desire to adopt children and provide a loving home for them have to jump through a lot more hoops than many who biologically reproduce. It’s a bit ironic, isn’t it? I’m also thinking about the unmarried, unemployed mother of 14 children who were all conceived in vitro. Again, a bit ironic. I don’t think she had to jump through any hoops at all.

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: I’m going to do my best not to go off onto a rant. HOWEVER, when we took in our “new kids” in we immediately had to come up with an additional $800 a month in child care, not to mention all the other investments of raising two young children.

    If we don’t work and intentionally live our lives too provide for our family the government will do it (to some degree) for us. Something wrong with the system.

  5. psychscribe says:

    There is nothing worse than feeling like you’re being “inspected” and implicitly judged. I would NEVER have made it in the army bz I would have told my very first CO to go to hell LOL. Interestingly enough, my husband was in the army and was discharged with honors all over the place…go figure Cupid out… Sorry for rambling..congrats on passing this hurdle!

    mssc54 replied:

    Psychscribe: I don’t think it’s so much the inspection. I think it’s more me feeling like I have to answer to those who have such difficulty doing their jobs properly telling me how to do the job others are unwilling to do.

    Does that make sense?

  6. Doraz says:

    Seems like you have everything until control! I love that photo with this post! Nice work! Happy weekend!

    mssc54 replied:

    Doraz: Thanks! I would like to think that we have things under control but it may be just a delusion. lol

  7. psychscribe says:

    Yup. It makes perfect sense.

  8. Des says:

    Wouldn’t it be great if we had inspectors go around before people had children (outside the adoption process)? Or had to take marriage ed before they got a marriage license?

    mssc54 replied:

    Des: I’m okay with giving out marriage licenses but the lack of people who actually parent their children is another thing.

  9. K. Trainor says:

    42 hoops down…just a few more to go. By the time this is over you may feel like a prizewinning poodle, but –ahhh– it will be over. And then you can get on with the business of raising your family. Congrats on getting some of the red tape behind you!

    mssc54 replied:

    KTrainor: I think the next step is that “they” come out to do a home study. What ever that entails.

  10. brianshaw says:

    I had the same thought as Des. Great minds (or warped ones, anyway) think alike. It’s good that they are so concerned about how we shoulder the great responsibility of child rearing for an adopted child. It’ s a shame they don’t take that kind of interest when someone has biological children–maybe we’d have less unwanted births and abuse.

    Congrats on getting the certificates.

    mssc54 replied:

    Brainshaw: Thanks for sharing your “greatly-warped” mind with us! lol

    We had to attend the first of two all (Saturday) parenting classes today. I was quite surprised to see that I wasn’t the oldest guy there.

    It also did my heart good to hear what everyone had to say about why they were there as we went around the table introducing ourselves. Kinda renewed my faith and hope in humanity.

Leave a Reply

