Let Us Get Serious For A Moment.

 Picture - young adults sitting  at outdoor cafe  together. fotosearch  - search stock  photos, pictures,  images, and photo  clipart

What is the meaning purpose of YOUR LIFE?!

I will be the first to admit that I have not given much thought as to what my life PURPOSE is.  I am probably not so unique in this.  I mean I think at this point in my life I make better decisions than I did in past years.  Of course I still make mistakes (who doesn’t?) but the mistakes I make now are not huge, life altering.  However, that is not to say that I can not or will not (in the future) make intentional huge, life altering decisions.  I like to think that decisions should be somewhat different than mistakes.  I know, I know… they can be the done simultaneously.

How many people do you know that live their life with purpose?  How does one define their life’s purpose?  If you are single and hope to one day find that perfect “soul mate” isn’t it imperative (for that relationship to be fulfilling and lasting) for both of you to have the same purpose in life?  If you are like me and have been married… it seems as if my life purpose has “seasons” to it.  But should it?  At this time in my life I don’t think that my life purpose should be a fluid thing.  That seems a bit off base.

I think TRUE PURPOSE can and should be something firmly grounded and eternally based.

I’m going to have to ponder this a bit further and see how to describe my life’s true purpose.

5 Responses to Let Us Get Serious For A Moment.

  1. Joy says:

    I think for sure that my life has had “seasons.” I think your life’s purpose is what you make it. I feel doing what you love to do, is a purpose. RIght now my most important “purpose” is to try and make the best memories of me that my grandchildren will carry with them forever. Is that a “purpose?”

  2. javajune says:

    My purpose has always been taking care of the ones I love. Sometimes I feel like there should be more to my life than that but what? This is a great question and a very thought provoking post.
    jj

  3. leafless says:

    I find blogging to be a great way to discover one’s purpose and observe others’ purposes. This blog is a perfect example.

  4. marlajayne says:

    There are lots of possibilities to this one! What comes to mind right away, however, is something I read a decade or more ago by Deepak Chopra in The Seven Laws of Spiritual Success. I’m paraphrasing, but the basic premise is that your purpose is to discover your unique talents and gifts and then cultivate them to the max so that you can share them with others. Using what we’ve been given to improve and bless the lives of others is what our purpose is, according to him. And you know, the Christian outlook is pretty much the same (I think).

  5. psychscribe says:

    I often wonder what my purpose is…this is a great post…I used to think it was helping others in my profession…but now, as I study the bible more, I am learning that my true purpose is to open my heart to GOD’S purpose for me…to let him drive even tho I can’t see where he’s taking me…

Leave a Reply

