Is it Possible to Stay on Top?

I’ve been wondering lately…

How is it that one can reach a peek in any area of life only to lose the intensity that lead to that peek?

Since we just came through the Christmas Season I have been giving more thought to this kind of thing.  First of all why aren’t most of us able to muster that “Christmas Season” spirit all year long?  I mean it’s not that we are heathens or hateful the rest of the year but let us all admit that we seem to be able to find that extra measure of kindness, love and patience the closer we come to Christmas.

This got me to further thinking about what I’ve referred to before as “spiritual markers”.   That’s where the “peek” thing comes in.  Just how is it that when our proverbial fruit tree begins to bear fruit, are we able to sit back and admire the fruit?  For goodness sakes, if we are mature enough to recognise the fruit and the “fertilizing” it took to produce it, then why don’t we continue fertilizing?

Specifically I have been reminiscing about this previous post.

https://mssc54.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/my-angel-story/

Unquestionably a spiritual marker in my life.  So why is it that I find it so difficult to maintain my relationship with my Father to such a degree that this type of communication is not such an unusual thing.

I read in the Bible where God spoke to His people on various occasions.  I also read that God is the same yesterday, today and forever.  So the logical conclusion I come to is that if people aren’t hearing God’s voice in the world today then it surely is not because God has changed or is somehow lacking.

Remember when we were in school?  We had finals or a big exam coming up.  We wanted to score as high as possible in order to increase our GPA or too at least keep it from falling.

Well, why isn’t it that we study the things of the Lord in the same way?  Is it because we don’t truly believe in our heart?  Is it that we just take Him for granted and settle for the least common denominator?  Why is it that we value our earthly accomplishments more than our relationship with the Creator?

Not so you say?  How much time do we spend each day, week, month, year on our stuff (job, recreation, relaxing, etc.)?  Now compare that with the amount of time we spend on developing a close relationship with the Great I Am. 

Time has value.  So where is our value spent?

7 Responses to Is it Possible to Stay on Top?

  1. Caleb & Sol says:

    Interesting thoughts. To Jesus Christ be the glory forever!

    -Sol
    http://www.calebandsol.com

    mssc54 replied:

    Sol: Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. Lindsey says:

    I really don’t think it’s possible to stay on top. Everything in life is cyclical. You really, really needed God when you had your angel experience- do you need him so deeply now? I mean, obviously you NEED God, but you don’t NEED another angel experience in order to be reassured of his love for you. Perhaps God is trying to teach you to have faith in him without the mountaintop in sight.

    mssc54 replied:

    Lindsey: I do so appreciate your perspective.

    You are so right, in that, I don’t NEED the mountain top experience to be reassured of his faithful love. However, the “view” was so profound…

    So nice to hear from you again.

  3. Enola says:

    Not sure I have an answer. But I do know that the periods in my life where I lack intensity with God truly help me appreciate the mountaintop highs so much more.

    mssc54 replied:

    Enola: I too am glad that regardless of where I go He is always there ahead of me.

  4. Joy says:

    I don’t really know what to say on this one either. I do wish that people were kinder to each other all year though and not just at the holidays.

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy: Maybe if people would just try to extend that Holiday Attitude an extra couple of weeks each year… 🙂

  5. leafless says:

    “We wanted to score as high as possible in order to increase our GPA or too at least keep it from falling. Well, why isn’t it that we study the things of the Lord in the same way?”

    Well, we studied hard not because we want to learn about the subject but because we want to increase our GPA. Some people follow God for the same reason. How selfish we are!

    mssc54 replied:

    lefless: Right on the mark with that point!

  6. marlajayne says:

    No easy answers to this one. This happens to me all the time: I’m in church and am feeling spritually in tune with the world and all its people. I LOVE everyone, and my heart is full. Then I get home, and someone makes a snide remark about the meal I’ve prepared, or I get discouraged about the things I have to do to prepare for Monday. It’s just hard to sustain for some reason. Maybe it’s just because the world encroaches on our lives too much…maybe we let it.

    mssc54 replied:

    Marlajayne: You mean you get out of the parking lot after Sunday service without losing your peace?

    Have you ever noticed people cutting you off or not letting you out IN THE CHURCH LOT!! lol

    God bless us every one.

  7. Des says:

    If you read the Psalms, you can see that David had his ups and downs with God. One day he’s feeling really close and the other, he’s wondering where God went.

    Jesus went through the same thing. One day, angels are feeding and supporting him after the 40 days and in Gethsemane he’s wondering where everyone went.

    mssc54 replied:
    Des: When Benson and Dukacus were debating during a presidential cantidates debate Benson said to Dukacus, “I know Ronald Regan and sir, you are no Ronald Regan. 😉

    Good to see you and thanks for commenting.

Leave a Reply

