The Seeker Sensative Church

 

I have often heard those who do not attend what is known as a “Seeker Sensitive Church” bash them.

I guess the reasons are varying.  They don’t look like our church so they must be the ones doing it wrong.  It’s all soft and frilly messages, no meat and potatoes.  They only talk about how much Jesus loves you and don’t give you the whole Gospel.  Yadda, yadda, yadda.

All the Seeker Sensitive Churches I know of would also be calleg a Mega Church.   So perhaps the reason some people talk down about them is simply jealousy.  Which, I believe, is pretty close to pride.

When we (me, my wife and three bio-daughters) eventually left the Catholic Church we attended what is commonly called a seeker sensitive church in our town.

We were welcomed with open arms and were  met “where we were” (spiritually speaking).  We needed that at that time.  We were clueless as to spiritual matters.  Sure, we had down the pomp and circumstance and could sing a hymn.  But actually worshiping God?  Clueless!

I spent most of the first six months with my hands firmly planted on the chair in front of me as we stood during praise and worship.  Eventually, the Holy Spirit was able to creep in and true worship began to flow.  It sure was something refreshing and exhilarating!

After about a year of sitting under some good teaching and getting plugged in to various ministries each of our spiritual growth was unquestionably remarkably (especially if you would compare it with the decades we spent in the Catholic Church).

Now let me say right here that the Catholic Church is not responsible for where me or my family were when we decided to move on.  Each person is (ultimately) responsible for their personal relationship with the Lord.   And for anyone to blame one church or another or one pastor or another for their failure to grow spiritually is simply a cop-out.  Period.

Eventually me, my wife and each of our  three bio-daughters got involved in one ministry or another.  We served and served and was blessed in our service to our local church and too others of the congregation.

We cut our “spiritual teeth” at that Seeker Sensitive Church.  If not for that church we would not be the family we are or be the people we have each grown to be.

If not for that Seeker Sensative Church I doubt we would even be together as a family today.

After about six years I began to feel a prompting from the Holy Spirit that it was time for us to move on to the next spiritual journey in our life.  But how could that be?  I mean we were all so happy there.  We had developed some pretty firm relationships both with pastors, staff and members.  It would not be inaccurate to say that we were entrenched in ministry.  It was really difficult for me to yield to His leading.  However, after some serious prayer and fasting I understood why I was hearing the “time to  move on” message.  Pride.  I was comfortable where we were.  I had the confidence of the pastors, staff and senior members.  They knew who I was and what I was all about.  I just plain ole did not want to start over establishing myself in a new church where no one knew me or my girls.

After I understood what was going on I scheduled a meeting with the staff pastor I had worked so closely with for so many years.  I explained what I believed the Holy Spirit had revealed to me.  He confirmed it, prayed over me and asked the Lord to bless the next step of our spiritual journey.

That was about seven years ago.  We are still close friends and talk often.  That staff pastor is a man of faith and I learned a great deal from him; not only by serving under him and listening to his teachings but more importantly by being able to watch the confession of his mouth manifest time and again.

For example, just recently, he had been confessing for almost two years that he believed that the Lord wanted him to start a motorcycle ministry… but he did not own a motorcycle and of course did not have the funds to purchase one.

A couple of months ago at their monthly men’s meeting he was teaching on faith.  As he was ending the meeting he was interrupted by one of the guys that works with him in ministry.  There was a loud noise outside the entrance of the sanctuary doors.  The doors and the local Harley Davidson dealer rode in on a brand new Harley, road right up to the staff pastor, shut off the bike and handed him the keys.  Earlier in the day an anonymous donor paid cash for the bike and asked the dealer to deliver it to the staff pastor that night.

Now THAT is a demonstratin of a lesson in faith with an exclamation point at the end of it!!

So I guess what I’m saying is, we need to be open to the leading of the Holy Spirit and not the leading of our feelings or friends.

If you are not in the church you are supposed to be in, have some faith and move on.  But don’t leave through the proverbial back door without having a conversation with the pastor.  Meet with him and discuss your convictions and see what he thinks.  Perhaps the two of you will be more blessed through your obedience and handling your leaving the church in a righteous manner.

10 Responses to The Seeker Sensative Church

  1. fevah says:

    Jesus, where me bl–dy harley? Well I know, I know you did do a lot for me, yes, yes there was the whole dieing for my sins and I know crucifixion is no walk in the park but, hey, come on he got one. lol
    Love your post
    mssc54
    mssc54 replied:
    fevah; I can assure that the pastor was not wanting a Harley for his personal gain. He is using the bike as a “tool” to reach those who would not normally listen to the Gosple.

  2. Enola says:

    I have felt the urge to leave our Church. Unfortunately my husband does not. So I pray daily that God will change one of our minds. Until then, I am active in our Church. I love our Sunday school and love our friends. Just not real crazy about some of the “politics”. Unfortunately I think every church (except DM’s home church type) has politics. You have to keep the lights on somehow. Or maybe I’m just biased considering we had a church finance meeting last night and it didn’t look good.

    Anyway, I LOVE churches that aren’t church-like. My sister goes to what we call a mini-mega Church. It’s just like a mega Church in style, but not so many people (maybe 200?). I love it. It is mostly full of people that didn’t grow up Churched. They are truly sinners (some in really bad ways) touched by grace. Their faith is evident. For me, the best Church is one where you can find God.

    So, what is your new church like?

    mssc54 replied:

    Enola; It is difficult when one spouse wants to leave their church but the other doesn’t. However, I believe that you are following the Biblical “mandate”. Follow your husband unless he leads into sin.

    Politics and the church have been around since before the Savior. It bothers me too… a bunch of people get together and try to figure out the best way to generate more $$$.

    I have an idea! Let’s follow Jesus example and wait on the Lord.

    Our new church is in my blog role “LegacyCathedray”. You should consider following the linds to iTunes and click on one of the sermons and listen for free!!

  3. I’ve been churchless ever since I left Miami. It’s been frustrating because I keep trying one place after another and none of them feel like ‘home’. That feeling when you walk into a new place or meet a new person and you just ‘know’: this is the one.

    mssc54 replied:
    Churchless you say?! Just find a local church that teaches the whole Gosple and does not pick and choose which verses they don’t believe in. (Divine healing, Holy Spirit, etc.)

    God will honor your obediance to not “forsake the gathering of the saints.” 🙂

  4. Joy says:

    Is it common for people to leave their churches?

    mssc54 replied:

    Joy; Heck yes! Lots of people move around and around and around. They are called “Church Hoppers.”

    I think “those people” do so because they are more interested in a feeling than being planted and being held accountable.

    But that’s purely speculation on my part.

  5. fevah says:

    Hi Hayden if your looking for a church that feels like home, why not just convert your home into a church. Bam ,problem solved.

  6. leafless says:

    I am a devout Catholic. But I’m glad that people are able to find the spiritual home they long for. It does not matter what path one chooses, as long as it ends at the same destination-GOD.

    mssc54 replied:

    leafless; I agree. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  7. Des says:

    Wow, what a great story about the Harley! Awesome! I’ve been in the middle of the seeker church vs small local church on main st. controversy and it pains me to see both bashing each other. It’s like the colors blue and yellow in a rainbow bashing each other because they’re different.

    mssc54 replied:

    Des; It’s kind of like a couple of grade school boys on the playground argueing about who’s dad is toughest. So sad and dishonoring to the Lord.

  8. DM says:

    Loved this post. there was so much in it I could identify with. I grew up Lutheran- they gave me an awesome foundation for knowing the scriptures..but alas, it didn’t affect my behavior the rest of the week…met my future wife, converted…became a Catholic…heard the gospel through reading a book, spent 5 yrs actively involved in the Catholic denomination…got spiritually restless (just like you described)…wound up in a genaric bible teaching church…skipping skipping..always longing to experience the depth of relationships I read about in the book of Acts….that for me is the gold standard…how does the church body I am part of line up with the early church. Life is too short to settle for anything less. Today,we are part of a small house church…I’ve met spiritually vibrant people in all types of church settings..so who in the world am I to critique another person’s choices in this area of life.

    mssc54 replied:

    DM: I think spiritually vibrant people are in all churches.

    I was meeting with four other guys for a couple of years on Saturday mornings to pray. We kept the main thing, the main thing. It was one of the most powerful “seasons” I’ve been a part of.

    However, the guy who sponsored it said the Lord was calling him to go into his “cave” (like David). He has rebuffed repeated attempts to reignite fellowship with me and others.

    I really miss the guy.

    Sounds like your current church situation is fulfilling.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

    Now go and throw another log or two on the fire! 🙂

  9. Ethereal Highway says:

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, MS, and love and best wishes to the lovely children in your care.

    mssc54 replied:

    Ethereal Highway; Thank you so much. Blessings to you and yours as well!

  10. donstuff says:

    Merry Christmas!

    mssc54 replied:

    donstuff: Today has been an above average Christmas for us. I think it’s because we have young children again.

    We started the morning by singing Happy Birthday Jesus.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours as well!

Leave a Reply

