Bees

download

download-1

download-2

The first picture is of my long, long neglected barbeque grill.  I finally decided to put it to use.  However…. I heard a “buzzing” noise. 

Being a direct descendant of Paul Bunyon (on my mother’s side of the family) I have a great sense of the great outdoors.  So I immediately deduced that the “buzzing noise” I heard coming from underneath the grill cover was not something to be trifled with.

Fortunately (on my father’s side of the family) I am a direct descendant of McGeiver.  I used my McGeiver-like skills to fashion this “buzzing noise killer.”

 download-3

As you can see from the pile of “dead buzzing insects” my plan was (nearly) a complete success. 

download-4

 Look closely now.  You seee them?

download-5

 Yes, apparently our home is smack dab in the middle of the BEST place for bees to live.  Not only but I (unintentionally) placed my grill in the perfect spot to attract about a bazillion bees!

download-6

download-7

 Had I known there was this massive honey cone under the “Blue Cloak of Hidden Honey” I would not have used the McGeiver-like buzz killer device.

download-8

I mean just look at that.  Just think of all the honey and was.  All that natural sweet stuff and waisted candles too! 

download-9

 You know, I thought my garden did exceptionally well this year.

download-111

 I can’t imagine how long it took those little guys to build this thing.

download-12

 

Well, I want to admit here….

I made up all the verbiage in this post.  I actually received these pics from my sister.

I can’t imagine the idiot intentionally killing all those bees!  I hope he got stung a couple of times!!

People WE NEED THE BEES TO POLLINATE OUR CROPS!!!!!  Bees are already on the decline and to intentionally kill this hive is just unconscionable.

I wish I knew the person that did this.  I mean it’s got to be against some law.  If I was his neighbor I would NOT be happy with this imbecile.  I’ll bet he thought he was all smart and all.

So once again, for the record,

DON’T KILL THE BEES. IF YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH THEM CALL ANIMAL CONTROL AND THEY WILL POINT YOU IN THE PROPER DIRECTION!!!!

15 Responses to Bees

  1. Robert says:

    Seriously, if you ever find yourself in this situation, try to contact some beekeepers. In fact, check Craig’s List– I have seen beekeepers advertise bee removal services (hey–they’re free bees, and they keep the things alive)!

  2. enola says:

    We had a huge swarm of bees show up at my office one day and buzz around a fruit tree. We called the science center and they put us in touch with a beekeeper. The Bee Master came out and smoked thm into a box, then took them off to his farm. It was very interesting to watch.

  3. mssc54 says:

    Wow, enola, you come across some of the most interesting wild life stories! Aren’t you the one that was almost eaten alive by a heard of black bears and was only saved by your ferocious lab? lol

    I can’t imagine ever living in a large city. I would so miss the out of doors!

    Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Connie says:

    Wow. I was prepared to call you a few names for killing the bees…

    Maybe the person was deathly allergic to bees and basically clueless about removal…still tragic.

  5. Michelle says:

    I wondered when I was reading it where all the verbiage came from. I thought since Gisele sent it to you too it was a different one. I like the way you told the story. The guy should have called someone instead of killing all the bees. Anyone who doesn’t use a grill for enough time for that to happen doesn’t need one. That much honeycomb doesn’t form overnight. BTW at the end of the original it said that he thought the Queen flew away. WE CAN ONLY HOPE.

  6. enola says:

    No it wasn’t me with the bear, LOL I’ve only ever run into snakes – blech.

  7. Joy says:

    When I first saw these my first thought was I was so glad nobody was hurt but then I thought, why kill them like that. I would have make an extension handle and tried to lift it off from further away. I know we need bee’s.

    My youngest son is terrified of bee’s and I have no idea why. He was never stung.

    That honeycomb reminds me of when I was young. My grandparents knew some beekeepers and we would go to visit and they would give us that to take home. It was the best gum I ever had.

  8. kwoneshe2 says:

    While reading, I was more concerned about the alleged long neglected bar b q grill. Come on, man! That abuse, and cruel. Perfectly good grill and not using it?? Ours works all year long, even during snowstorms. 🙂

  9. Des says:

    Kinda sad. Yes, bees are people too!

  10. froggywoogie says:

    It’s tragic and a shame

  11. BJ Thomas says:

    With all due respect, I would have called a beekeeper to my home to remove and save the bees. Bees are hugely beneficial to food production. The world would be a much hungrier place if it were not for these industrious little insects. Granted, there are instances where there is no choice but to eradicate the nest (in inaccessible areas of walls, attics, etc.), but before making the decision to kill the little creatures, please employ every effort to save them. For more info on these little engines that can, go to the pest library @ http://www.youdoitpestcontrol.com .

  12. Laura (LS) says:

    Oh, I’m so glad to know it wasn’t you that killed all those bees. These pics are close to making me physically ill… certainly profoundly sad. I have been following the Hive Collapse crisis pretty closely, and worry each spring when I hear of more and more hives “waking up” empty. And then to see this. Such an incredible waste. It amazes me that so many people have so little regard for life, and so little knowledge of the environment around them.

  13. fwiw..Live bee removal & relocation certainly has its place, but I feel its important to point out that not all feral (wild) colonies of honey bees are suitable for relocation. Some do not put much honey away, others are ill tempered & many contain diseases that can wipe out a bee yard. Plus the economics often just don’t add up, it can be much cheaper to split an exisiting managed colony, or purchase a small colony than succesfully remove a feral colony. And in some areas of the US, we have to contend with Africanized honey bees. But we do try live removals when possible, see some examples at:

  14. Amanda says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of bees! Yes, bees are essential for pollinating flowers and such. Hope you get some honey from these little guys! 🙂

  15. kelvin says:

    bees are the most important insects.they pollinate and give nutritious honey and wax

Leave a Reply

