Everyone has faith in something or someone.

faith-sign-2

 

Some people may disagree with the post title but it is absolutely true.

For instance, I live near the Atlantic Ocean.  I have faith that when I read the paper and see the time of high and low tide that when I go to the beach, sure enough the tide is either in or out (depending on it’s schedule).  I know if I go to the beach an hour before sunrise that, sure enough, just as I expected the sun will rise.

To simple?  How about a new automobile?  If you turn the ignition key do you “believe” that the engine will come to life?  When you enter a darkened room and flip the light switch, do you have faith the electricity will provide enough power to illuminate the bulb and brighten the room?

How is it that you can have faith in the car starting or the light coming on?  I mean, you can’t see the combustion of the engine, yet it runs.  Neither can you see the electricity that makes the bulb illuminate the room, yet there is light.  If it can’t be seen how can you believe in it?

Some things are easier to have faith in than others.  Okay, I will give you that.

Faith is like a muscle, it must be exercised or it will atrophy.  And like a muscle it is better to start building your faith by using “lighter weights.”  You can’t possibly expect to have faith to heal the sick or raise the dead unless you have established an abiding faith that the Lord will “show up” in circumstances or situations that you have had presented to you early on in your Christian walk.

How about faith in the Maker of heaven and earth?  The Creator of all mankind?  Granted, true and an abiding faith in our Creator does not usually happen with the turning of a key or the flipping of a switch.

This faith comes from testing and/or repeated trusting.  Like the sun and the tides.  You see that enough then it is impossible to doubt that it will be an every day event. 

Faith in the One True God is much like that.  It has been my (personal) experience that He is real.  There have been too many times that I have experienced His presence to ignore that fact. 

I understand that doubters will doubt.  I suppose they doubt because they have chosen not to see.  Blame is easily spread around.  Bad things happening to good people.  A loving God would not create people know they would go to hell, etc.  Corrupt people seem to enjoy “success” while innocent children starve to death every day. 

When it is all said and done I think it comes down to expectation(s) and of course choices.  In all likelihood those expectations are formed in childhood, perhaps even in infancy.  Based on their life experiences these doubters expect to be disappointed again and again… unless they can physically see with their eyes or hold “it” in their hands, “it” doesn’t exist.  All of this leads to wrong choices and actions (or inactions).

I was “chatting” with one individual about my belief in the Savior and his adamant unbelief.  He said he has a child and he is exposing his child to many views and when the child is old enough the child can make the decision for him/herself.

I have always found that “argument” interesting.  For instance, although I did not discuss this with the unbeliever, I think it would be safe to say that he would not let his child play in the middle of a busy highway, or pull a boiling pot of water off the stove.  I wonder if he allows his child to make his/her decision on what they will or will not eat.  What time to go to bed or to get out of bed.  If the child will attend school or not.  What to wear on a cold wintry day.  I wonder if he allows his child to decide if  he/she will make a cross country trip with a stranger… that for all intense and purposes looks like a really nice person.  After all this nice person has lots of money and can provide nice things on this trip.  Heck, if they are going to Disney World, perhaps the child will really, really want to go!

I suppose that this father would, in fact, make these decisions for his child.  After all some of these decisions have life altering consequences or even life or death consequences.

So how is it that a person, regardless of what their personal belief system is, will just let their child make up their own mind about the MOST IMPORTANT DECISION  they can ever make?

I mean if, like I, you believe that God the Father created all things, that He is the same yesterday, today and forever.  If you believe that Jesus, the Christ, is the Son of God, came to earth in the form of man was crucified, died, rose from the dead after three days and sits this very day on the right hand of the Father; if you believe that He sent us the Helper (in the form of the Holy Spirit) Who is living and working in and through each of us… if you believe these things then you too are required by Holy Scripture to “train up your children” in this knowledge.

On the other hand, if you have a firm belief that none of this is real and that when you die then you are finished… that’s it.  If you really believe that and love your child why wouldn’t you teach your child that?  Could it be that you are not entirely convinced in your unbelief?  Embrace your unbeliefe or  embrace the One True God.

As with many Christians I have had a number of “spiritual markers” in my life.  I have written about one such spiritual marker here.  https://mssc54.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/my-angel-story/ 

In the end, when it is all said and done, I truly believe that I will one day spend eternity with others who confess the Savior as Lord.

If I am correct in my beliefs it will be glorious.  If those who do not confess the same beliefs as I do are correct in their unbelief… who cares.

15 Responses to Everyone has faith in something or someone.

  1. Amber says:

    Great post..so true. REALLY great picture! Genius thinking

  2. Servant says:

    Absolutely on target! I too am amazed at the “I will let them choose for themselves” argument. Whenever you hear a parent say that, you can count on it that they have not landed on the concept of “truth” yet. I am sure they roll that child out of bed every morning to go to school, whether they “choose it or not”.

    I know, I know…spiritual things are always secondary to the really “important” things like….public education?!? All we have to do is turn on our TV (like I did this morning) and watch the Today Show report that 54% of the girls between the ages of 13-16 are having sex with a quarter of them already having an STD. Answer…teach them about “protection”, rather than teach them about spiritual precepts like, let’s say…morality?

    When will we connect the dots and see where are choices and philosophy is leading us?

  3. mssc54 says:

    Amber; Ty tyvm (done in my best Elvis voice) 🙂

    Servant: Loved that “public education” comment. After all that is where most of our children derive their moral foundation.

    God help us!

  4. Children will challenge everything you teach them at some point. So deciding not to teach them anything to let them ‘decide’ for themselves is meaningless. And the logic doesn’t make any sense.

  5. Joy says:

    I believe that you need to talk about everything with your children. No matter how old they are and in the age appropriate manner that they need at the time. I also believe that if you only give your children your views, they might listen, they might not but they need to know all views. If they aren’t taught about God, how will they know they have that “choice?”

    I always gave my kids my views on things but also told them they should try to see things from all angles. Just because I believe something doesn’t mean everyone else does. My kids went to Sunday school and Bible school and were confirmed. Did they always want to get up early and go? No. But they didn’t want to always get up and go to school either but life isn’t always fair is it?

    If you give your kids a pile of wood and bucket of nails but don’t teach them how to build something, it will end up being a pile of wood and bucket of nails. I feel kids need the all the knowledge and learning they can get and learning something new is never lost.

  6. Joy says:

    I forgot to mention that I just love the pics your adding to your posts. I think they add so much. That eagle looks like it’s going to fly right off the screen!! Awesome.

  7. christianranter says:

    This reminds me of when we lived in California. The town we lived in was the earthquake capital of the world; 4000 a year. When I would walk down the sidewalk and the earth started to shake, the stable reference of the earth just went out the window and my faith in its sure foundation with it. I’m sure that those who said there’s no such thing as faith have fear during an earthquake which only goes to prove that they do have faith; at least in a non shaking planet.

  8. gentledove says:

    I shall never comprehend unbelief, God’s handprints are all over the place.

  9. marlajayne says:

    Great post. Makes me think of the verse in Isaiah about God’s ways being higher than our ways and HIs thoughts being higher than ours. We aren’t God, so how could we expect to understand why and what He does?

    I have a couple of friends who are riding the fence on whether the Bible is even a “real book” or not. They feel the stories are just that-stories, and they use the same old tired argument about how if God is all loving and all powerful, He would not allow sickness, abuse, poverty, sadness, and so on. I sometimes have to ask myself what in the heck they can believe in or turn to in those moments of fear, grief, or extreme need.

  10. ichabod says:

    Hi mscc54;

    “Faith is like a muscle, it must be exercised or it will atrophy.”

    I don’t know about that. Faith is part of you. Sitting Bull and Geronimo were both spiritual leaders who became Chiefs.

    Their faith in God was unquestioned. They are but a few of many.

    A person can go years without experiencing faith and one day it hits.

    I know this is probably contrary to what a lot of your readers may believe or think, but there are a lot of people on this world and religious systems.

    It all starts with respect for one another. If we can’t love our fellow man how can we love that which we cannot see?

  11. mssc54 says:

    Ichabod; Which love are you talking about? “I love my wife.” “I love my dog.” “I love pizza.” “I love football.”

    Or I love my friend so much that I am willing to jeopardize my relationship with them by telling that they are making a tragic mistake that will affect them for the rest of their life?

    You are correct in that Sitting Bull and Geronimo were both spiritual leaders who became Chiefs.

    You are incorrect in that they had faith in God. Their faith was in many gods. Not the One True God.

    Surely you don’t beliieve a person can go years without experiencing faith? If you love someone to you have faith that they love you back?

    The things you take for granted each and every day… isn’t that faith? I mean, don’t you know those daily things will respond they way you expect them to?

    The way we can love our fellow man is because we love HIM Whom we can not see!

  12. Servant says:

    Marlajayne

    I have had people for years say the same thing your friends are saying and it dawned on me one day…their assumption is that this world is good and evil things are the intruder and why doesn’t God stop it if He can?

    The Bible tells me a couple of things of which I believe:

    1. The world is not basically good but evil. It declares that it is under the curse of sin and that satan is the “god of this world” (ie. ruler of the world system or the way it runs) If that is true, then bad things should be the norm for all of us.

    2. “Every good and perfect thing comes from the Father above…”, so evil is not the intruder into our lives, but rather “good” is. Why don’t we all sit around and wonder why “good” is in the world? Can we not see the arrogance of thinking that “good” is the norm and evil is the intruder? Everytime I experience something good (which is really quite often) I am experiencing the intervention of God into my circumstances because bad is the norm. I always find it funny how doubters never consternate over the good they continually experience. That is the mercy of God over their life whether they recognize it or not.

    3. Why is God always required to “clean up” the messes we have created concerning sickness, disease, poverty, injustice, and just about every other evil thing. Again, I have more respect for an atheist or agnostic who at least has the intellectual honesty to admit that God didn’t create most of what we face. I will grant them the question of natural disasters, however, refer to #1. I believe God allows us freedom in order that we can truly love Him based on our desire, not because we have to or we are walking out some Divine play like puppets.

    People will avoid truth any way they can in order to maintain their own control and self consumed ways.

  13. ichabod says:

    Hi mssc54 ;

    In respect to Geronimo and Sitting Bull, they believed in a Great Spirit. One God.

    I have had the fortune of growing up with the Native Americans and knew a couple of Medicine Men.

    They had their feet on the ground pretty well.

    When one listens to them you realize that they and you talk of the same entity.

    There are many on this world who are starving and oppressed and never think about God because of their situation.

    I believe it is instilled within everyone of us. When it is time we become aware.

  14. Tessa says:

    Wow, interesting things said! I am like the stranger you spoke of who will expose their child to many views and let them decide. I see your points, but what if one believes more than one view is right? I believe that all religions have the same core belief. (I think I’ll write a post on this now!) We all believe in kindness, love, respect, and God. I was raised Christian, and now study Eastern Religions. I agree with you that this is the most important decision in one’s life, but I also believe there is more than one way to heaven. There is more than one route to communicate with God. Good point- I agree that non-believers obviously are not certain in their non belief since they don’t pass it on to their children.

    mssc54 replied:

    tessa as you study Eastern Religions you will find that many of them DO NOT believe in the One True God but rather believe in many gods.

    There is the beliefe that a relative came back as the cow in the street so don’t eat the cow… while your children starve to death.

    There is the beliefe that a person can make this cool looking little shrine and the spirits of our ancestors will dwell there. Where do the spirits of their ancestors live if they are homeless and can not make or buy a little shrine?

    I think the place where you are most off target is…

    The Christian faith is the ONLY faith that believes in the Trinity, that God (The S0n) came to earth as fully God while being fully man. He died and then rose from the dead.

    The Christian faith believe that the Savior is the ONLY way to God (the Father).

    I’m pretty sure that others teach that Jesus was a wise man, a prophet, etc. but not God.

    Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

    Hurry back!

  15. […] MSSC54, flattop34 This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. […]

Leave a Reply

