Just a question.

Since Jesus (The Christ) was fully man and fully God was it possible for Him to sin?

Reason(s) for your thoughts?

23 Responses to Just a question.

  1. Servant says:

    For temptation to be real…the possibility of sin must exist or the true power of the temptation is gone.

    If Jesus can empathize with me…I think He COULD have sinned, but the reality is He DID NOT sin, so that means I too can walk in victory!

  2. It’s like you are trying to break my brain!

    I would like to point out that we are missing Jesus’ teenage years. No telling what shennanigans he could have gotten up to.

  3. Joy says:

    Sure, I think it’s possible for him to sin.

  4. RT says:

    Interesting question…I believe Christ in human from was the perfect man, not tainted by the consequences of the original sin that haunts us mere mortals. So, He was probably able to live out God’s perfect will. I don’t know, just a thought.

  5. mssc54 says:

    Servant; while I agree with you I would expand a bit on that.

    Jesus was tempted in every way a human could have possibly been tempted (name your sin and He resisted it).

    However, since Jesus (according to Holy Scripture) continually resisted the devil the devil continually fled.

    Hence, temptation without sin.

    So yes, if we follow His example we too can be victorious.

    Hayden; I get your point, teenaged boys are full of mischiff.

    However, if you recall, even at the age of twelve Jesus was found to have been teaching in the Temple (for three days).

    That is the last time we hear of Jesus until he begins His (public) ministry. Remember it was at a wedding party! Isn’t it interesting that even in those days people wanted to be around Jesus. They invited Him to their wedding party and upon the request of his mother turned the water into wine.

    If you will notice each miracle Jesus performed after that was greater then the last until He eventually was raising people from the dead.

    Based on Who He is and the exibition of miracle(s) upon reappearing in the public eye it is impossible to honestly believe that He was up to “shennanigans” during those missing eighteen years.

    Joy; Would you care to expand?

    RT: Welcome to the nieghborhood and thank you for commenting.

    While I agree that Jesus was the perfect man I think it is equally important to remember that Jesus was equally tempted but unlike us He was more than a conqueror!

  6. Bryan Niland says:

    A lot of people believe that it was possible for Christ to sin. 26% of born again believers believe that while Christ was living on earth he sinned. Most believe Christ did not sin, this is affirmed in scripture, but where most agree is on the question you brought up. The concept that He could have, whether He did or not (sin) is called peccability. The temptation of Christ is closely linked to this…

    One has said “Temptation implies the possibility of sin.” Hodge

    I submit to you the thoughts of Shedd who wrote:

    “It is objected to the doctrine of Christ’s impeccability that it is inconsistent with His temptability. A person who cannot sin, it is said, cannot be tempted to sin. This is not correct; any more than it would be correct to say that because an army cannot be conquered, it cannot be attacked. Temptability depends on the constitutional suceptibility, while impeccability depends on the will…Those temptations may be very strong, but if the self-determination of His holy will was stronger than they, then they could not induce Him to sin, and He would be impeccable. And yet plainly he would be temptable.”

    I submit, no it is was not possible for Christ to sin.

    This all relates to the concept of the God Man. Even thought the
    human nature was peccable, the person was impeccable.

  7. You make very good points – I just always thought it was weird that he fell off the radar for a little bit. I always wondered if the Catholic Church had a little more information that they didn’t want to release.

    So I am curious now. What is the answer?

  8. Servant says:

    The problem in my mind is the divinity / humanity question. If Christ is 100% God and 100% man, then there has to be a reflection of that in reality. We cannot always say that His divinty trumps His humanity in every occassion; other wise, how could He be a High Priest who is able to identify with me as He approaches the Father?

    If Christ’s divinity overides His humanity at this point, then I concur He can “understand” the struggle we face as humans when we are tempted to sin and even stumble. After all, He is God and can “know” all things. But to “feel” of my weaknesses and infirmities implies another thing. Under the first notion He can sympathize with me, but under the second He can empathize with me. I submit that truly become the God-man, there had to be the possibility of sin. It seems that even Satan may have understood this, hence the wilderness temptations. Otherwise, that was sort of like a play being acted out for us to only get some moral insight from.

  9. Joy says:

    I just believe that we all slip and fall at times and I think that Jesus walked among man and therefore, sinned like the rest of us.

    I’m not good at explaining things like this.

  10. Des says:

    If he wasn’t capable of sinning, then the devil wasted a lot of time trying to get him to sin.

    Also, the sacrifice that was required was a perfect “lamb”. If the lamb had a blemish(sin), then the sinners wouldn’t be redeemed. Lots of good old testament stuff that you can read that points toward Christ’s sacrifice.

    Here’s another good question to ask. What if the Jews had accepted Jesus as the Messiah? He wouldn’t have died on the cross, so would the priest have sacrificed him in the temple?

  11. Amber says:

    Ok, here is my take on it Michael. You may not like it but here it goes.

    When putting together the bible, they wanted to make Jesus so above reproach and so beyond doubt that he was the one son of God that they tried to take his humanity away from him and make hims something else. I am absolutely sure that he was the son of GOD and spread his message on earth and lead us by example. However, Im sorry I don’t buy the “church dogma” on the subject of Jesus being something other than human. It doesn’t make sense for a 33 year old Rabbi of that time not to be married. It would be flat out bizarre. It would be pretty bizarre now in that strict culture.

    So many documents can be read from the Catholic church which were the guardians of the bible from then before the church split. You can see how and why things were stated and the conversations that took place as to why the dogma was created to make their religion the one and only and could be no doubt.

    Personally i do believe Jesus was the son of God… but I believe God sent down many to give us his message in any way we could understand and hear it. You know how many times the same message has been said just in a slightly different way??? Its too close to not be that.

    So yes, Jesus was just a normal guy with a big message. If he wasn’t, and he couldn’t sin or feel pain… then his point of sacrifice was meaningless right? Just another martyr?

  12. Servant says:

    Jesus was a “normal” guy?!

    He called Himself, “God”, on a couple of occassions. He was either a liar and a tad (really a lot) crazy…or fully God and fully man. Not much else to be considered, in my opinion.

    Jesus was unique on numerous levels so I am not sure that Amber has really solved this. Again, Paul calls the incarnation a “mystery”, because you cannot diminish one nature over the other. It makes for interesting brain teasers however!

  13. jameshknight says:

    The fact that Jesus Christ Himself testified that He was God, (and still is) is obvious in the scripture, He did so over and over. And the fact that God Himself chose to step down from the throne of heaven to die for us because He loved us so much that He would rather die than see us go to hell is a wonderful truth to consider. His sacrifice was the only sacrifice that could be eternal and therefore it most certainly was not pointless. We are bought with a price, the Precious Blood of the Son of God. John chapter 1 tells us plainly upon reading the first 14 verses that Jesus is God. The word made flesh which dwelt among us, the only begotten of the Father, is the same Word in verse 1 Who was God. Jesus said, “I and my Father are one.” He also said, “Before Abraham was, I am.” Thereby signifying His eternality, and the Jews understood that He was telling them that He was God and that is why, as the bible clearly says it, that they took up stones to stone Him. I must believe the bible. If I can not trust part of it, I can not trust any of it. Therefore, by faith, I not only think or believe, but I know that Jesus was, is, and forever shall be God.

  14. mssc54 says:

    Amber; Jesus was NOt just another martyr. Martyrs are only used by God once. Jesus’ sacrifice is “used” over and over again.

    The problem with your “understanding” of Holy Scripture is that you think like people do. God (clearly) says that His ways are higher than our ways. We can not fully comprehend what is Written. We are too only have faith that the Truth is The Truth.

    The problem with picking and choosing which verses in the Bible are “real” (to suit our own understanding(s) or agendas) is that who gets to decide which verses are to be chosen and which ones are to be cast aside.

    It is my beliefe that the only way to read the Bible is to understand that every “jot and title” are the very inspired Word of God. 😉

  15. Amber says:

    You are taking my comments out of context.

    I have faith that Jesus was and is the son of God…

    I also have seen facts that is hard evidence with my own eyes… not something made up here… historical facts letters from cardinals in the archives of the Catholic church which were the guardians of the bible then about the bible that it has been picked and chosen for us. So what ever You want to believe is up to you.

    My faith is wholy in God…. it is God that carries me through each day. And I am ok with that. It gives me peace.

  16. mssc54 says:

    I was raised Catholic and don’t want this to turn into a Catholic bashing thread.

    Isn’t it interesting that “facts” can always be found to bolster which ever side of a debate you want to advance.

    The same people who have “facts” are the same people who have the most to lose/gain. Selfserving?

  17. Amber says:

    Exactly…. I agree with that totally.

    That is why you do the best you can to your understanding. I have a deep faith. I have a personal and deep relationship to God. No two people can relate to God the exact same way.

    When people can finally come to grips with that… we will finally start making progress to peace and understanding and acceptance!!!

  18. Maggie says:

    What a good post and discussion.

    I guess I would disagree most about who were the guardians of the Holy Scriptures. Even more recent scrolls have been found since that time and used with modern translations from scholars from a multitude of religions backgrounds.

    Prophets across history predicted that a savior would come, live a sinless life, be born of a virgin woman, and die for the sins of the world.

    To sin is to chose to follow someone’s orders besides God. Scriptures says, “He who is not for me is against me”.

    Sin would have meant that Jesus turned against what he heard the Father telling him to do. It would have meant that he could no longer die as the perfect sacrifice, taking the place for OUR sin, since he had none of his own to die for.

    Romans tells us “the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life through Christ our Lord”.

    He had no “wages” to pay, so he bought ours.

    In that moment, his sinless life was able to, once and for all take on the sins of the entire world. If he had even one sin, he would not have been able to do what he did for us. He would not have been the Saviour of the world prophecied for centuries from King David to Isaiah and on and on through the centuries…men who did not even read each other’s writings at that time. They all, through the inspiration of none of than the Holy Spirit, were given glimpses of the Saviour to come.

    You are so right, brother…our own thinking and reasoning is not enough to explain the plan of salvation. It is build, block on block by reading and understanding the Bible with the help of the Holy Spirit showing us the jewels there pointing to Christ.

    That statistic and others like it mean that we are creating a feel-good Christianity without teaching enough people the plan of salvation and why it only works one way. That is, Jesus Christ and him crucified.

    I love that Scripture that says, “I do only what I hear the Father telling me to do.” Jesus was not just God walking around. He is part of the Trinity, and has been with God since the beginning, but in taking on human form, he limited himself…separated himself out, so to speak. He had to commune with the Father just as we do in order to learn directives and choose to obey. He was given a human personhood. He went away to pray. He sought God for peace, counsel, directions, strength…

    Oh, how I thank the Lord for you blog and am encouraged to hear these fruitful conversations taking place in blogdom. You all keep up the great conversations! Very good to read.

  19. winteridge says:

    Here is my question. I posed this to Billy Graham, but he ignored me. If God is all-seeing and all-powerful, how can he cause (or allow to happen) earthquakes, famines, wars, and events like 9/11? I cannot fathom that.

  20. mssc54 says:

    Winteridge; I can not speak for Mr. Graham. However, I will say that you (basically) calling him a stupid, nieve old man is pretty disrespectful.

    If you already have a predisposition to want to “not understand” there is not much anyone can do to change your mind.

    However, I will briefly say…

    God created man and gave man the ability to make his own decisions. Man has created wars, famine, 9/11 etc.

    As far as “natural disasters” go…. perhaps (to some degree) man has contributed to the severeness of earthquakes by nuclear bomb under ground testing or in the case of flooding, redirecting rivers.

    I understand your saying “I cannot fatham that.” You first must want to understand.

    But all of this is just my (current) understanding.

  21. winteridge says:

    To mssc54: I do resent that you say I insulted Mr Graham. I merely stated that he (or his staff) chose to not answer my question. I’m sure he has many more interesting ones to address.And Happy Birthday, Mr Graham. I have nothing but respect for that gentleman. I had hoped that, unlike you and I, he would understand and could explain. I keep searching…

  22. mssc54 says:

    You resent? That’s funny.

    First of all, your question must have been submitted in writing in some manner. The security around Mr. Graham is such that the general public is not allowed casual access.

    Or it could be that you just want people to click on and purchase some of your whares.

    In any case if you are earnestly in search of answers and have been unable to find them, perhaps you should be better served by determining how it is that you (personally) have been unable to understand… not find.

  23. fevah says:

    Interesting discussions. As to whether Jesus was able to sin, I must say I have no clue at all. I would how ever like to comment on :
    “First of all, your question must have been submitted in writing in some manner. The security around Mr. Graham is such that the general public is not allowed casual access.”

    If the man has so much faith in God and what he is doing as an individual to serve God, then why does he feel the need for security. Surely this isn’t faith in motion? is it?

Leave a Reply

