DON’T BE QUIET IN SCHOOL!!

Illinois state law allows for a moment of silence each morning in school to allow students to “reflect”. 

In October of 2007 an atheist (on behalf of his minor daughter) filed a law suite against the state of Illinois alleging that this moment of silence is akin to state supported religion. 

I can only assume that during this moment of silence this atheist student has been reflecting on what other students are reflecting on.  It is not enough that students are silent and unruly for this brief period of time.  Apparently all this silence has caused this atheist student a great deal of consternation.

So now we have The American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) and the Aliance Defense Fund filing papers as friends of the court.  Each of course on opposite ends of the “friendship table”.  (a term completely made up by me)

You can click on the link below and follow your way to the actual law suite.

www.alliancedefensefund.org 

Personally, I think it a very sad day in our country when not only the First Amendment under attack but even being quiet about what you are thinking is equally under attack!

 

 

“The law provides students a brief period of time to reflect on whatever they choose, whether through prayer, silent reflection, or some other silent method.”

9 Responses to DON’T BE QUIET IN SCHOOL!!

  1. You know what kills me? The poor kid who’s all “I don’t care. I wish Dad would stop, this is so EMBARASSING.”

    I wish people would stop using their kids to make these kinds of points. Ugh.

  2. matt says:

    This is why we have courts — to separate the drivel from the meaningful. And I have confidence in the American justice system to get it right, most of the time anyways. (For all my objections to various American policies, etc, my issue is not with the justice system; nothing will ever be perfect, and our problems are more with the disparity between theory and application than anything else.)

    I read the post you linked at my blog. My response: people will always interpret their experiences in a way that makes the most sense to them. For you, in your context, that was an angel. And that’s your truth, because it’s what is real to you. My thoughts, which you asked for. Had it happened to me… well, I have no way of knowing how I might have interpreted it, not having an actual context for it, an actual place and time in my day-to-day life. Because obviously the event itself would have to be informed by that context. If that makes sense?

    Feel free to email me if you have more dialogue in mind.

  3. laughlivemedia says:

    Don’t people have better things to do…Oh that’s right atheist don’t know anything better to do cause they don’t believe in God who would have them doing constructive things in stead of being worried about people thoughts…SAD… truly sad

  4. Joy says:

    I do feel people who do stuff like this don’t have anything better to do. Nobody said they had to “reflect” on anything in particular. You could think about any one of a million things. Stuff like this ticks me off and it’s such a waste of money. I also agree with Hayden, how embarrassing for this child.

  5. Amber says:

    Im rolling my eyes. People are too ridiculous for words! Count the lint in their belly buttons for gawd’s sake! Sheesh! Why does everything have to be so PC!

  6. tam says:

    unbelievable.

    truly. i dont know what to say, or how to respond to this.

  7. Tracie says:

    I am a big fan of Alliance Defense Fund! They are really doing a good service, stopping the madness the ACLU is often perpetrating and conserving our Constitutional rights.

  8. hoverfrog says:

    A moment of quiet reflection is fine but prayer time dressed up to look like a moment of quiet reflection is a way to promote prayer and is unconstitutional. Hopefully the courts will be able to decide if this is the case.

    Besides which don’t you want schools to spend time doing other things like, oh I don’t know, educating children.

  9. A true atheist; not an anti-theist says:

    The moron that filed the lawsuit is no atheist; they are an anti-theist. As an atheist myself, I’m saddened that so many people who claim to be “atheist” go around hating on others’ spiritualities both have no idea what they’re talking about and sully the name of atheism and what it truly is.

    I guess it takes all kinds…

Leave a Reply

