I received a letter out of the blue today from a politically liberal “watchdog” group reminding me of the law regarding 501 (c) 3 organizations and their involvement in political things and elections. It was a most intimidating letter informing me how, if I were to do certain things or say certain things, that the tax exempt status of the church would be revoked and gave all sorts of scary anecdotal stories to underscore the point. It was a blatant attempt at intimidating the church from doing its God-called ministry of prophetically speaking into the nation.

First, let me say…I understand the IRS regulation intricately well. In fact, I have always endeavored to obey those in authority when it did not conflict with the Word of God. I happen to believe that the church probably ought to be careful about endorsing or campaigning against people running for political office. I have yet to meet a politician who is 100% in line with the totality of the Word of God. So, we should have the ability to speak prophetically to any office holder and any political party. That is especially so this election cycle because I am not real passionate over either of the major political candidates.

Having said that, I am irritated that this “watchdog” group feels the liberty to somehow attempt to suppress my 1st amendment right as well as my Biblical mandate to address those issues which are clearly addressed in the Scripture. The Bible addresses all sorts of issues that relate to the running and administration of a nation. Did you know the Bible speaks about: tax rates, who should be taxed, where life begins, abortion, gay marriage, capital punishment, immigration policy, educational philosophy, economics, leadership, music, health, sex education, biology, foreign policy, global warming……. YES IT DOES! The Scriptures are a blueprint for life for individuals and for NATIONS!

The secular forces of our nation are attempting again to intimidate the church and marginalize its influence. They are trying to “fear” us into silence. We will not (or at least I will not) be feared into silence. This election has ramifications both naturally and spiritually. This election has BIBLICAL issues that are at stake. While both candidates have their shortcomings, we must be sure as the people of God that as best as we can discern, we need to be “salt and light” for the purposes and precepts of the Lord.

Originally, I wasn’t going to say much regarding this election, but now that the enemy has endeavored to challenge the prophetic voice, I believe I will. That letter was a wake-up call to remind me and hopefully many of you that “When the righteous are in authority the people rejoice; but when a wicked man rules, the people groan” (Proverbs 29:2). This nation may not realize it, but the Word says, “By the blessing of the upright the city rejoices” (Proverbs 11:11) and “Righteousness exalts a nation” (Proverbs 14:34). We, as the church, need to be involved greatly.

You’ll be hearing more…..

Pastor

******************************************************************************

My pastor is all about the Truth and would never  go against the Word of God.  Neither will he shrink from his God given responsibilities as it relates to the local church.