Biggots All

Have you noticed?

Have you ever noticed that “my” opinion is the only opinion that really matters?

Have you ever noticed that if you don’t agree with “my” opinion then you are:Β  stupid, naive, a hack, blind, racist, an idiot or any number of names “others” can think of?

Just read the blogs.Β 

I mean if you disagree with alternative life styles boy the names fly from the alternative life style camp.

And don’t even get me started on Christian verses Muslim or vice-versa.

Then there’s the white/black/red/brown/yellow know it alls.

Why is it that if you don’t hold “my” opinion it’s okay for “me” to roll out a list of names that are all about “you”?

Just curious how it is that “you” got so messed up.

15 Responses to Biggots All

  1. nmmillan says:

    If people are attacking your for what you are saying, I think it is only because they are used to having it done to them as well. I could easily tell you all the horrible things I and my friends have been called when they see us supporting alternative lifestyles and things like that. It goes both ways for both sides. It doesn’t make it right, it’s just the way things are. Maybe you are talking to the wrong people. Believe it or not, there are plenty of people out there who will engage in a civil discussion with you, and be open to what you have to say even if you disagree. Most people are as ignorant as they slurs they throw at you and I really would try not to let it get under your skin.

  2. mssc54 says:

    Nmmillan; First of all thanks for stopping by.

    You see, part of my point is, someone has to “make the first move” and NOT be the one to be the name caller… in spite of the hurtful things thrown their way.

    Thanks again and hurry back! πŸ™‚

  3. I think the thing that has bothered me the most is using the term “muslim” as a slur in this election. If I were a Muslim in this country I would be very deeply offended.

    People have insinuated racism or sexism or age-ism, but no one seems to care that we have blatantly been anti-Muslim. Muslim does not equal terrorist and terrorist does not equal Muslim.

    The Oklahoma City Bombers were not Muslims, neither was the bombing of the Atlanta Olympic games perpetuated by anyone who was.

    If I could change anything about the political discourse in this country, it would be to eliminate the “anti-Muslim” angle.

    I do have to say that I LOVE that the term MAVERICK has been introduced. Calling Chris a maverick has done WONDERS for my…um, for our…let’s just say he likes it.

    πŸ™‚

  4. mssc54 says:

    Hayden; EEEEEE-HAAAAAAAAHHHHH (cowboy hat waving over head). lol

  5. Amber says:

    Hayden TMI! Seriously sister! LOL

    Mssc54 – interesting and wonderful post. You are quite the surprise at times. Good thinking, and good writing.

    P.S. You REALLY need to let us come fix up your blog home… its boring. And you Sir are not!

  6. mssc54 says:

    P.S.

    I know you are NOT saying I am a boring person! πŸ™‚

    I would love the help. How would that work?

    P.S.S.: I think you are jealous that you don’t have a “cowboy” like Hayden does. πŸ˜‰

  7. Amber says:

    Oh no, I done had me a cowboy once. He couldn’t keep up with me! I have a pervert Brit instead…. shagadellic darling!

  8. Amber says:

    OK, on a serious note… you email me… we go over what your ideas are. You pay I think its $15? for CSS credits for an entire year (just gives us the ability to customize your page) – but I will walk you through the entire thing. Then you leave it in the hands of SF and I… mwahahahaha

    Just kidding. Seriously, we have been doing this for several of our blogging family. SF is putting it on her portfolio. I do the design.. she does the mechanics. Each design is done reflecting the person’s blog, and who they are. Angry African, Kwoneshe2, Lindsey’s new blog… all us πŸ™‚ Plus the design for the ubuntu badge etc. We really are a good team. She did stuff for Joy too during football season.

    Anyway if you want to get started… you know how to reach me. I already have some visions for you in my head – of how Id like this to look. πŸ™‚

  9. Amber says:

    Oh and of course – her blog and mine add to the list πŸ™‚

  10. Des says:

    That’s why I like blogging so much. Many times I’ll start out on a subject and it will take on a life of it’s own with me ending up changing my opinion on something just because I spent the time to write out my thoughts.

  11. Joy says:

    I hate name calling also. Some people just always think they can change your mind. I’ve had to tell my mother I will no longer talk to her if she doesn’t keep politics out of the topics.

    Your blog does need a little touch up. Let Amber take you in her hands…

  12. donstuff says:

    I was going to call you a bunch of names (kidding), but by the time I finished reading through all the comments I had forgotten what your post was about.
    I’m looking forward to the new look after your Sanity-Amber makeover. Could one say you will have Found you’ve been Mooned?

  13. mssc54 says:

    OKAY, OKAY I’ll let the “Blog Deco Ladies” have a go at it. lol

    You know, my favorite flavor ice cream is vanilla. πŸ™‚

  14. wvhillcountry says:

    mssc54, I hope you have never received that kind of treatment from me. I know the hurt that comes from sensless name calling and screeching.

    The biggest problem with communicating on a “hot” issue through the internet is that tone and facial expressions are not seen or heard. What I have intended to be honest open questions have been taken as attacks. And I know I have taken what someone writes in a way that they did not intend.

    As for your blog, I like it. I enjoy reading your thoughts. You do have a way with words. Looking forward to the “new” look. p.s. Vanilla is my fav. too

  15. marlajayne says:

    This post really resonated with me for a couple of reasons, the first is that it’s SO TRUE, and yet the people who are harboring such bigoted, narrow minded feelings are often unaware of it.

    The second reason it grabbed my attention is because of a CD I was listening to by Christine Kane the other day. She was talking about a bumper sticker she saw on a car in Asheville that said, “All one.” Christine loved that because she’s all about peace and love. Then she looked at the other bumper and saw something extremely negative and downright ugly about Bush. She loved that too (in a way) because it was yet another reminder of how cuckoo people can be. “WE are united if you agree with me.”

Leave a Reply

