Prayer (an update from an earlier post)

As I have looked over many blogs I have noticed a common theme in some.  A sense of almost despair.  Perhaps even feeling helpless.

I have been in that season more than once myself.  The thing that has helped me  most is conversing with my Lord.  I say conversing because a conversation involves more than just talking and reading a list of all my ales.  Conversing involves listening too.  Perhaps listening more than speaking.  

I think some (maybe even most) people don’t get that part of prayer.  Either that or they may spend so much time telling the Lord what He already knows that they leave very little time in their busy schedule to be still, quiet and listen.  Listen with their heart.  Listen needing to hear.  Listen expecting to hear.

When I read of Jesus the Christ and His times of prayer I see that His chosen times were most often in the early morning or late evening.  I think that is because the noise of the world is mostly silenced at those times.  I could be wrong but that’s what I think.  He even gave His disciples a specific time for them to watch and pray with Him.  One hour. 

Could we not each tarry one hour with the Lord?

It is also my personal belief that prayer should be audible.  Sure God can read our thoughts but Holy Scripture is replete with verses about the power of the tongue (the spoken word.)  Hey if nothing else think of praying out loud as letting the enemy know just how defeated you know he already is.

I was speaking with a friend of mine some time ago.  She and her husband were befuddled because I slipped by their home and left a sum of cash in an envelope on their door. 

Every once in a while I believe the Holy Spirit speaks to me to do such things and when I am certain of the amount and timing I simply obey.  I figure I would rather err on the side of benevolence than hording.

However, this whole concept was foreign to them.  They couldn’t think of accepting it.  Sure they believe in “Karma or whatever you want to call it.”   Sure she prays too.  Of course it’s usually when things are in dire straights but she prays.  So I want to say to her (but I didn’t) “Look you have a son, what if the only time you could get him to talk to you was when he was in dire straights…. and you had absolute power to put him in those dire straights; What would you do to get him to talk to you?”  Seems simple to me.

They each finally understood and grudgingly accepted the money.  She called me back a couple of days later and said that her husband had asked her; “Hey, wasn’t that the exact amount we spent last summer to by that lady an air conditioner?”  Yep it sure was.  Then she called the very next day.  “You won’t believe what happened today!”  Hubby’s aunt that never had any children died and they just got a check for exactly ten times the amount I had given them.

I have a computer program QuickVerse 6.0.  I found this and thought it fit nicely.

6. GIFT AND THE GIVER

For the real good of every gift it is essential, first, that the giver be in the gift—as God always is, for He is love—and next, that the receiver know and receive the giver in the gift. Every gift of God is but a harbinger of His greatest and only sufficing gift—that of Himself. No gift unrecognized as coming from God is at its own best: therefore many things that God would gladly give us must wait until we ask for them, that we may know whence they come. When in all gifts we find Him, then in Him we shall find all things.

George Macdonald, Second Series, “The Word of Jesus on Prayer”

 

 

10 Responses to Prayer (an update from an earlier post)

  1. marlajayne says:

    Nice post. About the listening, I’ve often thought about how we often neglect that part…or else when we “hear” or “figure out” the answer, we somehow don’t realize that it came from Him. When my children ask me for advice, money, things, the car keys, or whatever, they don’t ask and then leave the room. They wait around for the answer. Why don’t we remember to do the same when we pray?

  2. DM says:

    loved this post….we’ve been on both ends of that equasion more than once (the giver and the receiver) I have no problem doing either…BTW..when was your birthday again? I remember you mentioning it was coming up sometime in October right? 🙂

  3. Lindsey says:

    Great post!

    It’s hard to think of prayer more than our asking and our needing and our venting- our relationship with God HAS to go both ways! We have to do as he wishes, hear his hearts, search for his voice… true happiness doesn’t come from getting what we want, it comes from being in God’s heart.

  4. Joy says:

    I don’t really pray at certain times. I just do it when things come to me. I talk out loud when I pray. I’m just weird that way. This was a really good post.

  5. I like throwing shout outs.

    “Dear God, that’s a pretty awesome rainbow. THANK YOU. Love, Hayden”

    Or, when I put the radio on my favorite song happens to be playing yet again, “Dear God, YOU KNOW ME SO WELL. THANK YOU. Love, Hayden”

    I don’t really pray to God for anything specific anymore, or ask him to fix things. I used to pray and pray and PRAY that God would make my relationship with my first love work, or get us back together, or make him love me more.

    I used to actually PRAY THAT WE WOULD BE MARRIED SOMEDAY. Oh. My. God. What was I thinking?!

    I know now that if the answer had been ‘yes’, I would be so miserable right now. Also, I probably prayed so hard because I knew the answer was no. Maybe subconsciously I figured that if he knew that I REALLY WANTED IT, he might relent.

    Anyway, I don’t do much ‘normal’ praying. And, before I write my daily (but only during the week) blog posts – I sit quietly in silence to see what I’m being moved to write about.

    I know it’s coming from ‘me’ if it’s clunky and not very inspiring. I know it’s coming through me if I reread it and get chills, or don’t really remember writing the words, or wrote it in a flow.

    It was very frustrating to realize that I couldn’t just write on command and do it well. But I’ve never missed a day or failed to connect, so I figure it what I need to be writing.

    Why on earth did I go on this tangent?? Oh, yes. I like giving props more than ‘official’ prayer.

  6. bojinx says:

    I think its really strange… I wrote a post this morning about Hope – and also about reading posts that are full of despair! The self reflection, meditation, prayer, is so beneficial to us. It helps to calm and centre us! Its so nice to see there are others giving to the world 🙂

  7. cindyred60 says:

    When one says to the great Thinker:-‘Here is one of thy thoughts: I am thinking it now’ that is a prayer-a word to the big heart from one of its own little hearts.–
    George MacDonald

    Thought you’d enjoy this quote.
    Thanks for your blog

  8. Amber says:

    I have simply “known” God personally since I was a child. I have always had full on conversations with him …. whenever. I often close my eyes and pray, or just meditate on the thoughts I need to communicate to God . When I am alone, we have wonderful conversations and very often he answers me clearly, because I choose to listen.

  9. mssc54 says:

    Marlajayne; I love that analogy of the kids asking for the car keys! I may hijack that. lol

    DM; I know what you mean. When I was a child obedience didn’t feel this good. BTW I’ll be 54 on the 5th. 😉

    Hayden; A God shout out. Too funny.

    “I used to actually PRAY THAT WE WOULD BE MARRIED SOMEDAY. Oh. My. God. What was I thinking?!”

    You know what you were thinking. Most people figure out what THEY WANT then pray for God to bless it.

    Fortunately He is so much wiser than we are.

    BTW He did answer your prayer. He just said NO!

    Bojinx; You know what they say about great minds thinking alike and all.

    Thanks for stopping by. Hope to see you around again. 🙂

    Cindyred60; Thanks I did enjoy that quote and your welcome! You are, indeed, a welcomed to stick around. 😉

    Amber; You are fortunate to have landed on one of the keys. You CHOSE to listen. 😉

  10. […] mssc posted something the other day, that really hit home. The part about prayer, and how many of us forget (in our despair) that we are not alone. God is there, watching. Even if we don’t understand His reasoning for allowing things to happen sometimes, there is a plan for all of us. We just have to have faith, and belief it will all work out. Hard to do at times, when it feels like the world is crashing down around you. […]

Leave a Reply

