The Impotent Church

I have been told that there are over three hundred thousand churches in the these United States of America.

I find that a bit odd.  I mean take a look at the condition of our society as a whole.  Sex and violence permeates every place you look.  You can’t even drive down the highway without seeing a billboard selling sex.  Well… of course they say they are selling cars, vacations, sun tan lotion, etc..   However,  the means by which their message is transmitted is through a picture of some scantily clad woman.  Even (or especially) if you pick up a magazine it’s the same thing there as well.  I was waiting in an area for to go orders in a restaurant a while back and one of the wait staff had the latest copy of Cosmopolitan laying there.  So I picked it up and began to thumb through it.  Wow, some of the advertisements in that magazine didn’t leave much to the imagination.  And if you want to know what the latest sexual craze or dysfunction in  your own life is just answer “these questions” to see where you fit in with the rest of the sexually charged people who have participated.  Now I’m not picking on “Cosmo” for I am sure if you pick up a mechanics magazine you will find the same thing… to some degree.

Over three hundred thousand churches and we who call ourselves “Believers” can not seem to make an impact in our own family, much less our own community.

Okay then let’s look at what season it is.  Well, now baseball season is drawing to a close and football season is ramping up.

How many hundreds of thousands of baseball and football fans do you think there are?  How many stadiums are there?  Not nearly three hundred thousand stadiums that’s for sure. 

Yet these zealots will arrange their lives around their favorite team.  I’m sure we have all seen some of them on television in freezing weather, bare chested, with their team colors painted on their upper torso.  Completely sold out for a bunch of guys trying to put the most points on an electronic score board.  You see them standing to their feet and cheering at the top of their lungs.  GO PELICANS!!! (or whatever the name of their god is at the moment).

Some of these zealots are “sold out” to what ever the current god is.  Football season, baseball season, hockey season… it doesn’t really matter what the god of the season is they want a piece of it.  They run from god to god trying to fill some void.  How sad for them.

I’ll bet  the towns who have one of these Franchises in them are thrilled!  I mean having a professional athletic Franchise in your town, well that is something to boast about.  

Mean while the homeless remain homeless.  The poor remain poor.  The hungry remain hungry.  And of course the “lost” remain “lost”.    Just like they do right down the street from the local churches.

I’m sure my pastor did a much better job with the way he spoke today.  If you desire you can listen to him free on itunes at www.legacycathedral.org

11 Responses to The Impotent Church

  1. GO PELICANS!!!

    But in all seriousness, very good points.

  2. mssc54 says:

    Lol, Hayden; I was limited in who’s mascot I could use. I don’t think there are any “Fighting Pelicans”. 🙂

  3. Lindsey says:

    @Hayden: hee!

    But as for the post- great, great stuff here. A lot to think about.

  4. wvhillcountry says:

    Very well said. Isn’t blogging addicting? But in all seriousness, I really don’t think it will be the churches that turn society around but the individual Christians who choose to act out of Christ’s love. We each have the chance, no the obligation to show Christ’s Love to all we meet.

  5. Joy says:

    I’ve written and rewritten this and deleted more than a few times because I’m not sure how to respond to this.

    Do you really think and feel it can only be one way or the other? Do you really believe if you listen to sports or really anything else, your putting that before God?

  6. mssc54 says:

    Lindsey; thanks for stopping by.

    Hill; I do think the individual Christian will ultimately be the one(s) who achieve His love.

    Joy; Sorry to cause you so much consternation.

    No I don’t think that it is (necessarily) sinful to have “outside interests”.

    However, when the Lord says for us to love Him with our whole heart, mind and sole; I think if ANY other thing gets us more excited than our relationship with Him then there is definately a problem.

    We are called to “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God”. Not to “give Me a few minutes when it’s convient for you.”

    Be excited and spirited about a sports team but be most excited about the Lord our God who has created those people and enabled them to excell at what they do.

    Let me close with this; In my own life I have figured out that if I am “worrying” about my priorities then there is definately a cause for that concern. 😉

  7. wvhillcountry says:

    Okay, so I live within 100 miles of the Pittsburgh Steelers so they are my team. I cheer them on, I watch their games. No problem. But correct me if I am wrong, the point mssc54 was trying to make is that if I love the team more than my God and his son, then I am in sin.

    It doesn’t have to be a sport team….It can be anything if it interupts my relationship with God or it is more important for me to do this or that or watch my team.

    I understand the frustration, but I also have to be willing to admit I fall short on many occasions. If I can even recognize the fact, then I too think there is a cause for me being concerned.

  8. mssc54 says:

    Hill; zactly what I was trying to say!

    Now put down the remote control and back away from the game! lol

  9. Amber says:

    I agree God comes first.

    I agree that sex is everywhere you look these days and people use sex as a sales technique. Its a fact, a sad one at that.

    As for all of the magazines talking about what is wrong with your sex life and how to fix it, I take a different approach.

    You see I spent many years chatting online. As you more than likely can surmise I was very popular, and had a big group that chatted to me each and every day. I found many things out about the different sexes and what makes them tick during this time and was seeing how many people look outside their marriages/relationships for sexual and emotional stimulation after the marriage has gone quiet or the sex isn’t satisfactory or often enough.

    I think its healthy to talk about sex in a mature way. You know (cause you laugh at me) I blog about the subject occasionally. I think people need to understand how their bodies work, and have some kind of understanding of the realities of sex. NOT what is shown on TV and Magazines.

    I think that many of us of faith find churches a very difficult place to be these days. Finding others of similar values and mindsets who interpret the Bible/Koran/Torah in the same way we do. Instead we get filled with the TV preachers wanting to save your soul if you’d only send them money… Its confusing. Especially with the ME generation we are building.

    You have so many good points here. So many I agree with…

  10. Amber says:

    Sorry what I left out was… maybe if people understand sexuality, in a mature way, and understand how to please themselves and their husbands/wives then maybe people wont be so anxious to look elsewhere for their “satisfaction”.

  11. Des says:

    From 2 Timothy 3
    1-5Don’t be naive. There are difficult times ahead. As the end approaches, people are going to be self-absorbed, money-hungry, self-promoting, stuck-up, profane, contemptuous of parents, crude, coarse, dog-eat-dog, unbending, slanderers, impulsively wild, savage, cynical, treacherous, ruthless, bloated windbags, addicted to lust, and allergic to God. They’ll make a show of religion, but behind the scenes they’re animals. Stay clear of these people.

Leave a Reply

