My Angel Story

June 1999

 

My father was an abusive alcoholic, who was out of town 4-5 nights a week.  He used to just beat the tar out of me, so much so that my mom would have to “pull him off” of me. I was second in the birth order with 4 sisters and my brother came along when I was 13.

 

He (my dad) used to take me to his girl friend’s (secretary’s) house and I would have to wait out in the car.  I can still see her standing on the steps with that blond hair up in a bun and that yellow dress on, holding the screen door open for my dad.

 

When I turned 13 we had “the talk”.  My dad told me that if I ever had the chance to “get” a girl, I should do it, that I may be able to get that same girl later but that would just be one more “piece”.

 

When I turned 17 I joined the US Navy.

 

As dad got older he “mellowed”. When I would go home to visit I would see pictures of him at family functions or church functions etc.  From the pics he looked like a pretty good guy.  My siblings, their spouses & grandkids would always tell me how he has changed.  But I just knew the man I knew, not the man my dad eventually became.

 

Now, fast forward to 9yrs ago.  I got a call that said my dad was near death, that I had better come.  It was a little over a 600 mile drive and during that drive I just kept asking the Lord to give me one more audience with my dad so I could speak to him about his relationship with the Savior.  I told the Lord that I never got to spend any time with my dad as I was growing up, too let me speak to him about his salvation so we could be together in eternity.

 

Dad was in the hospital with IVs in each arm, oxygen in his nose, a catheter and a bunch of other wires coming from under his gown.  You could just sense the spirit of death in the room. Dad had had a lung removed years before and the lung he had left had emphysema.

 

The next night it was my turn to stay with dad.  Around 10pm I felt a “prompting” to stand at the foot of my dad’s bed and pray over him in the Spirit.  After about 30mts I had another Impression.  “Where’s the praise?  You never praise Me.”  I spoke back to that “Impression”, forgive me Lord, I will praise You for everything you bring to my mind now.  The first thing out of my mouth was “I thank You, O Lord, for divinely placing me in this family in the birth order which You placed me.”  I don’t recall all I prayed after that but after about 30mts more it was like a light switch was switched in the room and the spirit of death was broken.  My dad’s eyes fluttered open and he says “Hi son” (small grin on his face).  Hey dad, are you thirsty, (put the straw in his mouth).  How about some cantaloupe?  Yeh. I went to the frig in his room and got the cantaloupe that the family had brought.  Since dad didn’t have any teeth the cantaloupe was soft enough and he enjoyed it.  He had been pretty much “out of it” for the previous two days and hadn’t eaten a thing.

 

My devoutly Catholic mom comes in the next morning. I related the nights experiences to her and asked her; “He looks better, huh?”  Well, I guess the medication is finally working, she replied.  I thought after over a week, you’re giving the medication credit?!

 

So then the doctors role around and mom and the docs call me out into the hallway and basically say, looks like your dad is going to make it you might as well head on home.

 

But at this point I am still intimidated by my dad…even on his death-bed.  Finally, I sat on the edge of his bed ( alone with him) and took his hand and said, “Dad, I just can’t leave without knowing if you’ve made a commitment to Jesus or not.”  He squeezed my hand so hard that it hurt just a bit and says to me “Son I made that commitment long ago”.

 

As soon as he said that another “voice” spoke to me.  “You see how your dad lived his life, there’s no way you will ever see him in heaven.”  Immediately my response was, “The Bible says that the spirit never dies. All the way home me and the “voice” are arguing about my dad’s eternal home.  I just kept saying “the spirit never dies”

 

After being home a couple of days my wife asks me to take some clothing up to the Goodwill drop sight. Now, mind you, I am still “arguing” with that “voice”.  So I get to the Goodwill and ask the old lady where the clothes go.  In the back she replied. As I was going by her desk I noticed she had a red-letter edition bible open to the book of Matthew.  I ask her what she is reading and she says she is reading the Good Book.  I can see that but what are you studying I asked her.  Me and a couple of other ladies have a ministry where we cast out demon spirits she says.  So here’s my chance to unload, I thought.  I say to her, let me tell you about my week last week.  Well, let me tell you something, she says.  I had a really difficult week let me tell you about it I insisted.  She says very calmly “The Lord wants me to tell you something right now.”  I said “Sister, I don’t want to get in the way of that, what is it?”  She says, “The Lord wants me to tell you that the spirit never dies.”  OMG, my knees buckled and I just started weeping!

 

We chatted a bit longer and I found out that that was her first day working for Goodwill.  I looked for her the next day but she wasn’t there…and hasn’t been back since. 

 

The Bible says to be careful because we never know when we may be entertaining angels.  For a complete stranger to speak verbatim what I had been “arguing” with the enemy about for nearly a week is no coincidence.

 

I believe that the Lord sent one of His angels to comfort me in my hour of need.

 

I know what I know. I know the experiences I have had and that cannot be diminished.

26 Responses to My Angel Story

  1. Lindsey says:

    Wow- what a powerful story. Angel or human, that woman was Christ for you, and I thank God for sending her to you.

  2. Phil Alcorn says:

    Dude, that is awesome… what an awesome God loves us!! Never ever forget these moments… hold onto them! Let them build your love, your faith, and your hope…

  3. mssc54 says:

    Lindsey; I read in the Bible where we are told to be ware of how we treat strangers for we know not when we are entertaining angels….

    Phil Alcorn; First of all WELCOME!

    Over the years since this profound expereince I have found myself asking how I could have gotten from that relationship to a more passive or even benign relationship.

    It is helpful for me to remember that HE is ever faithful!

  4. Aren’t you happy you shared this wonderful experience? 🙂

  5. wvhillcountry says:

    People can change, how very fortunate you are to have gotten the chance to know your “real” dad before he passed. Although the memories can hurt, it is good you have the newer memories to hold onto.

    You are a gifted writer and I will be back to read more. Take care.

  6. mssc54 says:

    Hayden; although I am glad to share this profound experience I am equally disappointed with myself in that I some times act as if this special relationship does not exist. I mean how in the world could I ever ignore something like that?!

    WVHill; Thank you so much for your comment.

    Welcome, I hope to see you around.

  7. I wish you could hear my Dad’s testimony. Something similar. If you’re ever in my part of the world please let me know. Be Blessed

  8. God does amazing things. Your story really touched me. Not to add a shameless plug for my blog, but here is an experience I had that you might appreciate.

    http://apuritanmindset.wordpress.com/2007/06/04/the-house-on-north-broadway/

  9. Joy says:

    What a wonderful experience. I still have chills.

  10. mssc54 says:

    Red Wine Gums; why don’t you post your dad’s experiences? I would love to read about them.

    Apuritanmindset; God is just so amazing in deed. I looked at the story. Talk about amazing!

    Joy; I do so like to take that trip back in my mind to that day. It truly was the most amazing time.

  11. donstuff says:

    A wonderful ending to a tragic beginning in your story. Thanks for sharing it. God is faithful!

  12. SanityFound says:

    I have limited words that I can add to what has been said before me except that I know that feeling when the realisation hits you. It is one of the most incredible experiences we can go through and really opens up our eyes.
    Thanks for sharing this, its beautiful

  13. mssc54 says:

    Don; Never did I expect these events. I just figured I would find out “one day.”

    Sanity; I actually had no words when this happened.

    Thank you both for stopping in. 🙂

  14. […] was Mssc54’s post My Angel Story that reminded me of these instances and what they meant to me.  Thanks Mssc54 for bringing […]

  15. enola says:

    Thanks for pointing me to this post. What a wonderful memory. I’m so glad you recognized the opportunity you had and allowed God to use you.

  16. […] As with many Christians I have had a number of “spiritual markers” in my life.  I have written about one such spiritual marker here.  https://mssc54.wordpress.com/2008/08/26/my-angel-story/  […]

  17. Tessa says:

    Wonderful story. My husband read it too. We both were like, “Wow. We’d drop to our knees if that happened!” It is so hard to believe, but I know you are an honest, sane guy! 😉 Thank you for sharing! I encourage everyone to read this. All your stories and blogs I’ve read are inspiring and really interesting! I’ve heard of many of similar stories where people heard a voice talk to them. Do you think it was your subconscious maybe? I believe a piece of God lives within us, so God does talk to us, but it’s also us talking at the same time-make sense? And the “enemy” you speak of-I think of as being your subconscious as well. I see it as you arguing with yourself-like we all do at times-especially since you had such a rough past with your dad-there was part of you that worried about your dad going to heaven. But you know best how it was for you, and it sounds like you think it was the “enemy” Christian’s believe to be the real deal, right? I think the only evil is in our minds.
    I love your story. I hope I can experience something so profound in my lifetime. I do believe in psychics-in people that can see into the other side or who are just so in touch with God they can do what this woman did for you. But in your case, sounds like she definitely was an angel or spirit that helped you. I think our minds are so powerful, that we can make anything possible, so maybe your thoughts were so powerful and intense that you attracted this woman into your life. Real or an angel, this was a divine intervention for you and I believe you made it happen with faith.

    mssc54 replied:

    Tessa: I’m glad you enjoyed the story. The experience has left it’s mark on me for sure!

    I don’t believe it was my subconcious at all. Nor do I believe that a “piece of God” exists in me.

    I believe the Bible is the inspired Word of God. Therefore, when I accepted Jesus, the Christ, as my Savior I received all that He has to offer. He “lives” in me.

    Granted, since I occupy this fleshly body, it is highly unlikely that I will be able to live as Godly a life as He did. However, the goal is to become more Christ-like today than I was yesterday.

    For me there is only one explanation of who that woman really was.

    I also need to add that this all happened AFTER I had been on an extended “season” of getting up around 4am to study my Bible, pray and meditate. I think it would be fare to say that my relationship with the Lord was at a peek then. Therefore it was easier for me to “hear” His voice.

    Also, we read in the OT about God audibally speaking to individuals. It is my ascertion that God has not changed (He is still speaking). The problem (now) is that man has gotten so busy with life and has for the most part not taken our relationship with the Creator very seriously. So He’s still speaking but we just don’t know how to hear Him.

  18. Tessa says:

    The voice, what was it like? Did it sound like you talking to yourself? I am very curious. Did it frighten you? Do you think that people go to hell if they don’t make a comittment to Jesus?

    mssc54 replied:

    Tessa: I did not hear an audible voice but rather had a very strong impression as to what I was supposed to do. I was not in the least bit frightened… or surprised.

    Yes, I do think people who reject Jesus as their Savior do go to hell. The Bible doesn’t say that Jesus is “A” way but that He is THE WAY.

    Just look at all other religious leaders. Every single on of them have not conquered death. They (every one of them) are in their grave.

    Why do you think it is that out of all the billions of people born on earth that there is only ONE whom is the most talked about?

    It is not good enough for a person to be good to get into heaven. Who would determine the measure of “good” to qualify?

    If there’s a heaven then there’s a hell.

    Thanks again for stopping in and commenting.

    Incidentally… meditating is also in the Bible.

  19. Sue says:

    What a great story! Not story, experience for you! God does work in mystery ways and I do think we encounter angels more than we realize. I know that feeling of the “impression”. You just KNOW, you can feel it. In my job, I have felt dealth as well as smelled it. I only hope that those who pass have the angel of the Lord with them and believe that Jesus died for them and he is their salvation. When my grandmother passed, my grandpa was with her at the hospital, but couldn’t handle being in the room so he sat outside her door while a nurse stayed with her. They live 2 states away so when the phone rang at 3am I just knew. I knew who it was and I knew why he was calling before I answered the phone. I didn’t know my grandma had gotten worse, but I just knew. When we went down for the wake/funeral, my aunt made the comment that grandma looked mad and she did! She did not look like she died at peace and it bugged my aunt a lot. I can only hope that she did not have anger in her heart when she died and that I’ll see her one day again.

  20. dodie says:

    Interesting. I was just having a discussion today with my brother about the space-time continuum and how time isn’t actually linear, the way we normally percieve it. I think stories/experiences like this are so fascinating.
    And it is good to know that we don’t HAVE to become our parents! LOL

    Dodie: Hey there! I’m so glad you took time to leave a note. It’s so nice to reconnect after so many years… decades even. lol And yes it IS nice to know we don’t have to become our parents.

  21. Becky Covington says:

    Wow! How wonderful God is to give you that physical assurance…..l….He knows how to find us right where we are.and knows just what we need. I love the part where you were at your Dad’s bed and thanked God for placing you in your family, in the right order, etc. He knows everything…( I love where the Word says that we were in Him from the foundation of the world) and all that you and your family felt while you were going ‘ through’. Not to mention all that your Dad had gone through and was going through that caused him to act so horribly. I am so sorry that your family had to go through this. And I wish I had known the Lord then and could have offered your sisters some of His heart and Spirit. But, God is our Redeemer and I am SO GLAD that God is so into restoration and was there for you and made a Way through!!! What a gift for the Lord to give you!

  22. […] My Angel Story (via Mssc54′s Weblog) June 1999   My father was an abusive alcoholic, who was out of town 4-5 nights a week.  He used to just beat the tar out of me, so much so that my mom would have to "pull him off" of me. I was second in the birth order with 4 sisters and my brother came along when I was 13.   He (my dad) used to take me to his girl friend’s (secretary's) house and I would have to wait out in the car.  I can still see her standing on the steps with that blond hair … Read More […]

  23. lawyerchik1 says:

    Thanks for sharing that – it just reminds me again that the most powerful witnesses are those who tell their own experiences. I’m glad that your dad committed his life to Christ! 🙂

Leave a Reply

