Steriotypes

I was wondering today where steriotyping came from.  You know whites are racist, Jewish girls are frigid, blacks like fried chicken and watermellon, Polish people are dumb, Irish are drunks.  I’m sure there are others but I was just wondering how it all got started.

What got me thinking about this is, in the town I live in within the last year two new gas stations were opened.  The kind with the little grocery stores in them as well as a little franchise eatery inside. 

In the predominantly white area of town the gas station there has a sub-sandwich shop. 

In the predominately black area of town the gas station there has a fried chicken shop. 

Do you think that is just a coincidence or good marketing?

5 Responses to Steriotypes

  1. SanityFound says:

    I can’t give you an intelligent answer but say that I agree with the big question and have wondered it often myself. I hate these stereotypical labels, perhaps because they hide the true character of a person.

    Don’t have your email addie so will say here, you can delete 🙂 – WP has a glitch and you have to manually add your blog’s web address to your profile settings in order for your link to be included when you comment. It will help others to click through to your blog, one I think is definitely worthwhile reading…

    Off to go read some more…

  2. mssc54 says:

    Well said Sanity, it is the true character of a person that makes them who they are. “True” character can often be difficult to discern.

  3. “Jewish girls are frigid”

    LMAO, somehow I missed that one!

  4. I just hate the way us College Boy Lawyer types get stereotyped. I don’t know how that started. 😉

  5. mssc54 says:

    ROFL… ummm

    Dear College Boy Lawyer type, what ever are you talking about? chuckle-chuckle

Leave a Reply

