Older Parenting

Okay, so we are almost finished with the adoption process of our new kids, a four year old boy and his six year old sister.   Just last week we were given legal custody.  You can read the other posts to get the full story.  I’m not very good with this yet so you will just have to click back or scroll down or however it works. lol

Anyway, here’s my challenge.  My wife is fifty-one and I am fifty-three I do believe that we have very good parenting skills but there aren’t any people our age with children that we know.  I’m sure they are out there because kids are having kids younger and leaving them at home for mom and with any luck at all dad to raise for them.  I have found over the past two years that talking about our new kids around the guys that I considered my friends… well I think I’ve worn them out.  Everyone at our church knows these kids and in the beginning they were all excited but now I get the sense that they have grown tired of hearing me boast of  the funny little thing our son has said or the next step in the legal process. 

It feels a bit wierd going on the field trips with parents that are literally as old as our bio daughters.  lol  I’ve already been the oldest dad on two field trips last year.  However, the good news is that I have, literally, decades of experience on these young whipper snappers and it’s funny at times to watch them in their delusional state of “I still have control.”  These parents today seem to want to be more of their kids friends than their parent.

I know I’m all over the map with this post but I have so much rumbling through my mind.  I figured out I will be seventy-two when our son graduates High School… unless he excells and graduates early. lol

No worries here.  We are in it for the long haul!  We are so blessed to have these children!!

5 Responses to Older Parenting

  1. Amber says:

    My Stepmother has adopted my two nieces from my youngest brother. He’s had some poor choices in his life and is trying to get his act together.

    She finds herself in the same situation as you… 60 years old raising two little ones. 5 and 6. Being single however, she finds it hard because she would like to meet a nice man, and really no one wants to sign up to be daddy at that age.

    I look at my own life. I was not blessed with Biological children. Instead, I adopt people as I move through life. God has given me this purpose. And although I do grieve for my own lack of children and little ones in my home, I know that like everything else there is a reason.

    You can share your stories about the kids on my blog any time! We all love to hear them!

  2. Violet says:

    We are not as old as you in the way of age as my husband and I are in our 40’s but we are in the process of adopting a 2 and a half year old girl. We find that we talk about our little girl a lot and we also have teenage boys. They adore their little sister and she gets so much attention from us as well as at the church. I think the church people have put her in their hearts. They show so much love toward her but we just got her a week ago so they are still excited about her. I personally don’t think that will change, though, as they’ve spent nearly a year praying with us about the process! Our little girl is a doll! Thanks so much for sharing!

  3. mssc54 says:

    Amber; Wow! Your mom must be an amazing woman. It will surely take an equally amazing man to evenly yoke with her to bring thses children up rightly in today’s challenging worl.

    Violet; Congrats on your “new” daughter. I am sure there must have been some anxiety with this too. I mean different from “giving birth” but “having a child” none the less.

  4. Violet says:

    There was a lot of anxiety on our part but we spent years praying that the Lord would provide us a daughter. At first, we prayed that I would be able to have a daughter but then we began praying about adoption. We are very thankful for the Lord’s many blessings on our lives and especially the little one He provided. She is an amazing gift and brought to us in such a way that we know she was the Lord’s provision. I imagine you and your wife can say the same thing. I pray the Lord will give you two the strength to raise these 2 children for His honor and glory!

  5. […] January 13, 2009 I was asked by one of my readers about our “new kids”.  I wrote a little bit about them here: https://mssc54.wordpress.com/2008/08/05/older-parenting/ […]

Leave a Reply

