ARE YOU IN THE HUNT?

I think there is a great misconception about Christianity… especially when someone initially accepts
Christ as their personal Savior.

Upon conversion many people believe, “Great, I’ve accepted Jesus.  Now I won’t have any problems or challenges in my life.”  WRONG!

Jesus never promised us a problem free existence.  What He did promise is that He would give us the Holy Spirit to help us make better choices.  Making better choices may lead to fewer pot holes in the road of life.  Not pot hole free but fewer pot holes.

It has been my personal experience that life happens in seasons.  I’ll have a season where it seems as though I can do no wrong.  Everything is almost golden.  Not perfect mind  you but nothing major going wrong and when things do seem challenging I am generally lead to a smoother path.  That season, my dear friends, is a dangerous one.  It is during those times that I have a tendency to become complacent about my spiritual growth.  Complacency can lead to stagnation.  For me, stagnation is a dangerous place to be. 

Then there are seasons that seem to be wrought with shear havoc!  Pandemonium even.  It’s as if God is saying, “Okay, now do I have  your attention?” 

I have spent enough times in those seasons that I am now able to recognize them as they are forming on my horizon.  That recognition is a good thing.  A very good thing.

It normally begins with me being presented with a choice or two.  One choice will lead to a season of selfish indulgence.  You see, the enemy knows precisely where my weaknesses lye.  And he knows that I am wise enough (now) to recognize a red flag when it appears.  So what he will do is try to lull me into a false sense of security, even try to convince me that because of “x – y – z” that a short season of self indulgence won’t be that big of a deal.  WRONG AGAIN!!

I have learned that even the smallest of selfish indulgences can and will likely, lead to a place I had never planned to go.  Similar to climbing a ladder, once I step on that first rung the second rung is easier, then the third, then before I know it I’m standing on the  top of the ladder marked “Not a step”

Have I always made the proper decision.  Heck no.  And I suppose there will be many short comings along the road of life.  However, I am willing to be a bit introspective and be able to make the proper adjustments when and where needed.

I’ll just keep running the race. 

One Response to ARE YOU IN THE HUNT?

  1. Gisele says:

    Thanks brother! I just want you to know I’m running the race at your side. I do continue to put one foot in front of the other and trust God and His plans. I have never before experienced this season, but I have faith that it too shall pass.
    Keep ‘em coming, you are an inspiration to many.
    G

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

